book cover of Containment
Added by 10 of our members

Containment

(2020)
(The first book in the Jake Parker series)
A novel by

 
 
When there’s nothing left to lose, there’s no limit to what you’ll risk.

Jake Parker’s world collapsed with the violent death of his wife during a police-led raid. In the awful aftermath, he hung up his detective’s badge for good. Now ex-military, ex-police, he has embraced a simple civilian life. But when a deadly new disease begins to threaten American lives, Jake is dragged out of his self-imposed retirement.

When a young family at a remote detention center die from a mysterious illness, Jake is contacted by a government official to launch a covert investigation. An unknown disease has entered the system, causing agonizing death and visible signs of blood pooling beneath the skin, and it seems to be spreading. If Jake can’t get on the ground quickly to eliminate the threat before it becomes an epidemic, countless more innocent lives could be at risk.

With the help of medical professor Eliza Mendoza, Jake heads to the border, but what they uncover there is evidence that this devastating disease is man-made, and part of a calculated plot aimed right at the heart of government. With powerful forces ranged against him, Jake must use all his ingenuity to bring down the ruthless organization behind the attack. Failure is not an option.

A pulse-pounding action thriller from a USA Today bestselling author. Fans of David Baldacci, I Am Pilgrim and Jack Ryan will be gripped.

What readers are saying about Containment:


“I’m soooo glad I chose to read Containment. Fast-paced, exciting and entertaining.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“Thacker’s best work yet! A fast-paced read that grabs you on the first page and is powered by non-stop action … full of twists and turns, will keep you on the edge of your seat from the first page… a definite page-turner that I couldn’t put down until the very last page.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Fast-paced and punchy… filled with action with a race against time… moves like lightning and the end is a shocker!… It’ll have you on the edge of your seat. Great read! Definitely recommended for action thriller lovers.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“I loved everything about this book. The story line, the characters and the suspense.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“What a great start to a new series! I stayed up till 1.30am to finish it.” B for Bookreview, 5 stars

Non-stop action with enough twists and turns to keep the reader guessing… A top-notch thriller.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“An addictive read… I have devoured the entire book in one sitting.” Goodreads reviewer

“I couldn’t put this book down. Had me hooked from the first page.” Goodreads reviewer

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Nick Thacker's Containment

Paperback Editions

September 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Containment: An utterly gripping thriller about a deadly pandemic (A Jake Parker Thriller)
Author(s): Nick Thacker
ISBN: 1-83888-716-4 / 978-1-83888-716-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Containment: An Utterly Gripping Thriller About a Deadly Pandemic (A Jake Parker Thriller)
Author(s): Nick Thacker
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


September 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Containment: An Utterly Gripping Thriller About a Deadly Pandemic (A Jake Parker Thriller)
Author(s): Nick Thacker
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Containment: An Utterly Gripping Thriller About a Deadly Pandemic (A Jake Parker Thriller)
Author(s): Nick Thacker
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Containment: An Utterly Gripping Thriller About a Deadly Pandemic (A Jake Parker Thriller)
Author(s): Nick Thacker
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Containment: An utterly gripping and addictive action thriller (A Jake Parker Thriller)
Author(s): Nick Thacker
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU