book cover of The Life She Left Behind
Added by 12 of our members

The Life She Left Behind

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
When I wake up in the middle of the night, it’s not a sound that disturbs me. It’s a feeling. Silently, I creep to my daughter’s room, breathing a sigh of relief when I see her sleeping, her night-light twirling, butterfly shapes moving their pink wings. Quickly, I lock the door. I won’t let anything happen to my little girl.

You tell him everything. The husband you adore, the father of your child, your best friend.

He knows, just by looking at your sage-green eyes, when something is wrong. The two of you can communicate with a glance, or a touch of the hand.

Except what if you can’t?

What if your happy marriage has plastered over one huge lie? A lie you have even started to believe yourself, in order to survive?

What if you have a secret, something you have hidden from your beloved husband and your strawberry-scented baby girl, to keep them safe? What if the guilt has kept you up, night after night, for as long as you can remember?

What happens when suddenly, after twenty-eight years, that secret refuses to stay buried? What will you do now everyone you love, everything you cherish, is in harm’s way?

An emotional, thought-provoking and beautifully written novel which examines the pieces of ourselves we are afraid of, and the impossible decisions we make when we are desperate. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Kerry Fisher and Liane Moriarty will be moved by this heartbreaking tale.

Readers absolutely love Nicole Trope:


Loved loved loved this book!… What an incredible story… Will have you holding your breath until the shocking ending. I was glued to this book and couldn't go to sleep until I had finished it. And the next day I read it again!’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Incredible… It's going on my list of favourite reads of the year. I had tears streaming down my cheeks… I was blown away… I really can't say enough great things about this book. It is a must-read.’ Jaynie’s Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

OMGSimply amazing… Heartbreaking… I went and hugged my daughter and messaged my son “I love you”.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Absolutely heartbreaking and absolutely beautiful. I loved everything about this book. Make sure that you have tissues at hand because you will need them.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

OMG!!!!! An absolute meteor-shower of stars for this one! Fantabulous! Jaw-dropping. Twisty… So, so wonderfulIf I could rate a book 100 stars, I would… An outstanding read.’ Sandy's Book a Day Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

OMGWOW!… Fast-paced, edge-of-your-seat and an emotional rollercoaster that was a thrill ride from beginning to endI highly recommend it!!Confessions of a Bookaholic, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Literary Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Nicole Trope's The Life She Left Behind

Paperback Editions

June 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Life She Left Behind: An absolutely gripping and heartbreaking page turner
Author(s): Nicole Trope
ISBN: 1-83888-228-6 / 978-1-83888-228-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Life She Left Behind
Author(s): Nicole Trope
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


July 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Life She Left Behind
Author(s): Nicole Trope
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Life She Left Behind
Author(s): Nicole Trope
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Life She Left Behind
Author(s): Nicole Trope
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Life She Left Behind: An absolutely gripping and heartbreaking page turner
Author(s): Nicole Trope
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU