book cover of Vonnegut: Novels & Stories 1950-1962

Vonnegut: Novels & Stories 1950-1962

Player Piano / Sirens of Titan / Mother Night
An omnibus of novels by

Before winning international fame with Cat's Cradle and Slaughterhouse-Five, Kurt Vonnegut was a master of the drugstore paperback and the popular short story. This authoritative collection of his brilliant early work opens with Player Piano (1952), a Metropolis-like parable of breakneck technological innovation and its effect on those it robs of their livelihoods. The Sirens of Titan (1959), the interplanetary adventures of the world's wealthiest and most despised man, is both a pulp-fiction space opera and a satire on the vanity of human striving. The confessions of a German-American double agent well placed among the Nazi elite, Mother Night (1962) is a cautionary tale with a famous moral: 'We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful about what we pretend to be.' Here too are six of Vonnegut's best short stories, gems that display his matchless talent for hilarious invention and caustic social criticism.

A companion volume, Kurt Vonnegut: Novels & Stories 1963-1973, collects Cat's Cradle; God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater; Slaughterhouse-Five; Breakfast of Champions; and three short stories, including 'Welcome to the Monkey House.'

Genre: Science Fiction

Used availability for Kurt Vonnegut Jr's Vonnegut: Novels & Stories 1950-1962

Hardback Editions

April 2012 : USA Hardback

Title: Kurt Vonnegut: Novels & Stories 1950-1962 (LOA #226): Player Piano / The Sirens of Titan / Mother Night / stories (Library of America Kurt Vonnegut Edition)
Author(s): Kurt Vonnegut, Sidney Offit
ISBN: 1-59853-150-6 / 978-1-59853-150-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Library of America
Availability: Amazon