book cover of Midnight on the River Grey
Added by 10 of our members
 

Midnight on the River Grey

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
In this Gothic Regency romance Rebecca fears she has developed feelings for the man she swore to see hanged, her brother's murderer.

After her brother’s mysterious death, Rebecca Hunter vows to expose the man she believes responsible: Mr. Lewis Browning—known by the locals as the Midnight Devil and by Rebecca as her new guardian.

Summoned to his reclusive country estate to await her London season, Rebecca plans her own secret investigation among the darkened corridors of the mysterious Greybourne Hall. Yet Lewis Browning is not as she once imagined, and his motivation is horribly unclear. Recurrent nightmares and Rebecca’s restless feelings are further complicated by the shadow of her mother’s prior descent into madness and wondering if she, too, will follow the same heartbreaking path.

Even as midnight rides, strange injuries, and further murders lead back to Mr. Browning, Rebecca can’t ignore the subtle turn of her heart. Has she fallen for the man she swore would pay for her brother’s death? And moreover, can she trust him with her uncertain future?

Praise for Abigail Wilson:

In the Shadow of Croft Towers is everything I love in a novel: a classic gothic feel, a regency setting, a mysterious hero . . . and secrets abounding!” —Dawn Crandall, award-winning author of the Everstone Chronicles series

“Shades of Gothic romance in a portrait of Regency England . . . if Jane Austen ever met Jane Eyre, it would be at Croft Towers!” —Kristy Cambron, author of Castle on the Rise, of In the Shadow of Croft Towers

"Blending the unputdownable Regency flair of Georgette Heyer with the intricate plotting of Julie Klassen, Wilson not only places herself competently amidst beloved authors but carves out a unique place of her own." —Rachel McMillan, author of the Van Buren and DeLuca Mysteries

"Beautifully written, suspenseful, and satisfyingly romantic." —Jennifer Beckstrand, author of Home on Huckleberry Hill

“Murder is far from no one’s thoughts in this delicious new romantic mystery from Abigail Wilson. With scandal dodging every turn of the page, mystery hiding behind the visage of each character, and a romance brewing with an English rake of the worse—and best—sorts, readers will find nothing lacking! I was entranced, mesmerized, addlepated, and not a little bit bewildered as I wandered the halls of Middlecrest Abbey.” —Jaime Jo Wright, author of the Christy Award–winning novel, The House on Foster Hill

Full-length Regency romance with a murder mystery (c. 90,000 words)

Perfect for fans of Sarah Ladd, Deanna Raybourn, Julie Klassen, Tasha Alexander, and Lauren Willig

Also by Abigail Wilson:

In the Shadow of Croft Towers

Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey

The Vanishing at Loxby Manor (available January 2021)

  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs



    Genre: Inspirational

  • Similar books by other authors


    Used availability for Abigail Wilson's Midnight on the River Grey

    Hardback Editions

    September 2019 : USA Library Binding
    thumb

    Title: Midnight on the River Grey
    Author(s): Abigail Wilson
    ISBN: 1-4328-6865-9 / 978-1-4328-6865-9 (USA edition)
    Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    Paperback Editions

    July 2019 : USA Paperback
    thumb

    Title: Midnight on the River Grey: A Regency Mystery
    Author(s): Abigail Wilson
    ISBN: 0-7852-2412-2 / 978-0-7852-2412-9 (USA edition)
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    Audio Editions

    January 2020 : Audio CD
    thumb

    Title: Midnight on the River Grey
    Author(s): Abigail Wilson
    ISBN: 1-79975-269-0 / 978-1-79975-269-1
    Publisher: Bolinda/Brilliance audio
    Availability: Amazon AU   


    January 2020 : Audio CD
    thumb

    Title: Midnight on the River Grey
    Author(s): Abigail Wilson
    ISBN: 1-79975-270-4 / 978-1-79975-270-7
    Publisher: Bolinda/Brilliance audio
    Availability: Amazon AU   


    July 2019 : Audio CD
    thumb

    Title: Midnight on the River Grey
    Author(s): Abigail Wilson
    ISBN: 1-978677-29-4 / 978-1-978677-29-6
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson on Brilliance Audio
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    July 2019 : Audio CD
    thumb

    Title: Midnight on the River Grey
    Author(s): Abigail Wilson
    ISBN: 1-978677-30-8 / 978-1-978677-30-2
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson on Brilliance Audio
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    July 2019 : MP3 CD
    thumb

    Title: Midnight on the River Grey
    Author(s): Abigail Wilson
    ISBN: 1-978677-28-6 / 978-1-978677-28-9
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson on Brilliance Audio
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    July 2019 : USA Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: Midnight on the River Grey: A Regency Mystery
    Author(s): Abigail Wilson
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson
    Availability: Amazon   


    July 2019 : Australia Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: Midnight on the River Grey: A Regency Mystery
    Author(s): Abigail Wilson
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson
    Availability: Amazon AU   


    July 2019 : Canada Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: Midnight on the River Grey: A Regency Mystery
    Author(s): Abigail Wilson
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson
    Availability: Amazon CA   


    July 2019 : UK Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: Midnight on the River Grey: A Regency Mystery
    Author(s): Abigail Wilson
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson
    Availability: Amazon UK   


    Kindle Editions

    July 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
    thumb

    Title: Midnight on the River Grey: A Regency Mystery
    Author(s): Abigail Wilson
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU