book cover of Patience
Added by 7 members


(The fifth book in the Shackleford Sisters series)
A novel by


In this funny Regency romance series, the Shackleford sisters descend on a Regency society that doesn’t know what’s hit it…

With her four older sisters now married, it’s Patience Shackleford’s turn to take charge of her younger siblings’ education. But given that Patience’s most prodigious skill is lock picking, any abilities she passes on to her younger sisters are unlikely to provide any assistance in the drawing rooms of the genteel, especially as she has no interest in either high society, or horror of horrors… marriage. Indeed, her father the Reverend Augustus Shackleford is firmly of the opinion that the less society knows about his fifth daughter the better…

When Grace and Temperance, now married to influential members of the
ton, offer to take her in hand and bring her out, both Patience and her father are entirely horrified. For once in total accord, they endeavour to hatch a plan to somehow avoid the upcoming Season.
But that’s before a chance meeting with the enigmatic and undeniably handsome Marquis of Guildford when Patience discovers that lock picking is exactly the expertise he happens to be looking for…

Perfect for fans of Regency Romances with wit and humor and a little bit of steam.

Praise for the Shackleford Sisters:

‘Very funny, kept laughing out loud when reading them.’
‘Such an entertaining series, full of laughter and delightfully quirky characters.’
‘Terrific series, very funny.’
‘Thoroughly enjoyed this series, love the humour.’
‘There is constant action and so much funny banter, I couldn’t help laughing.’
‘These were wonderful. Lots of fun and great love stories.’

Genre: Historical Romance

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Beverley Watts's Patience

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors