book cover of The Dare
Added by 29 of our members

The Dare

(2019)
(The third book in the Detective Natalie Ward series)
A novel by

 
 
Jane's daughter is a good girl. What is she hiding?

When 13-year-old Savannah Hopkins doesn't come straight home from school, as she always does, her mother Jane immediately raises the alarm.

Leading the investigation is Detective Natalie Ward, whose daughter, Leigh, is the same age as Savannah. Soon Natalie's worst fears are confirmed when the teenager's broken body is found in nearby shrubland.

Evidence points toward a local recluse, but just as the net is closing around him, one of Savannah's friends, Harriet, is reported missing.

As Natalie delves into the lives of both girls, she soon discovers a sinister video on their phones, daring the girls to disappear from their families for 48 hours.

But Natalie isn't quick enough for this killer, and she is devastated to find Harriet's body on a fly tip a day later.

Caught up in the case, she takes her eye off her own daughter, and when Leigh goes missing after school she knows Natalie must be in terrible danger. The clock is ticking for Natalie. Can she catch this killer before her little girl becomes the next victim?

This gripping roller coaster of a listen will have you up in the small hours. Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Caine, and Robert Dugoni will love The Dare.

Reviewers are going crazy for The Dare:

"Wow wow wow! I just read this book in 3 hours. It's gritty, gripping and fast paced! Natalie Ward is a phenomenal character and I could read her books forever! I think I need to go lie down in a dark room for a bit, that was traumatic but bloody brilliant!" (Tishylou's World, 5 stars)

"BOOM!!!! Carol Wyer does it again! I can't even express how much I love the Detective Natalie Ward series... OMG!... I simply can't get enough of this series. Carol Wyer can't write fast enough for me!" (It's All About the Thrill, 5 stars)

"Compelling... Remarkable... Utterly thrilling. I read this exceptional book in one sitting. I simply could not put it down. I was hanging onto the edge of my seat as this book reached a crescendo. I definitely cannot wait for the next book in the series." (Robin Loves Reading, 5 stars)

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Patient Man
(Jackman and Evans, book 6)
Joy Ellis
thumb
Cry Baby
(Tom Thorne, book 17)
Mark Billingham
thumb
In the Shadow of Power
(Sandhamn Murders, book 7)
Viveca Sten
thumb
Trace of Evil
(Natalie Lockhart, book 1)
Alice Blanchard

Used availability for Carol E Wyer's The Dare

Paperback Editions

April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dare: An absolutely gripping crime thriller (Detective Natalie Ward)
Author(s): Carol Wyer
ISBN: 1-78681-851-5 / 978-1-78681-851-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dare: Detective Natalie Ward, Book 3
Author(s): Carol Wyer
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dare: Detective Natalie Ward, Book 3
Author(s): Carol Wyer
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dare: Detective Natalie Ward, Book 3
Author(s): Carol Wyer
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dare: Detective Natalie Ward, Book 3
Author(s): Carol Wyer
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Dare: An absolutely gripping crime thriller (Detective Natalie Ward Book 3)
Author(s): Carol Wyer
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU