book cover of Beneath the Diamond Sky

Beneath the Diamond Sky

(2004)
A novel by

 
 
Kashmir, the Himalayan foothills. Seven westerners on a misguided trekking expedition are taken hostage by separatist militants. Kate Cox and Ethan Hughes, a troubled young English couple, are among their number. At the mercy of hardened ideologues they cannot understand, the captives are pushed into a claustrophobic hell of shifting allegiances, where love and survival seem destined to collide. As the hostages struggle to hold themselves together, so those at home begin to fall apart. Rachel is tormented by the memory of her cold and dishonest relationship with her sister, Kate; Ethan's father, unwilling to confront cruel family truths, is ready to blame everybody but himself. Redemption depends upon the hostages' safe return, but as the prospect of their release fades so do their hopes of escape - and they already know the penalty for dissent . . . In the vein of Alex Garland's THE BEACH, BENEATH THE DIAMOND SKY is an absorbing psychological examination of how character fragments under pressure. It is a beautifully written, blackly funny and terrifying read.

Genre: Thriller

Used availability for Christopher Wakling's Beneath the Diamond Sky

Hardback Editions

February 2005 : USA Hardback

Title: Beneath the Diamond Sky
Author(s): Christopher Wakling
ISBN: 1-57322-306-9 / 978-1-57322-306-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

August 2005 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Beneath the Diamond Sky
Author(s): Christopher Wakling
ISBN: 1-59448-104-0 / 978-1-59448-104-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Riverhead Trade
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2005 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Beneath the Diamond Sky
Author(s): Christopher Wakling
Publisher: Riverhead Trade
Availability: Amazon   


July 2005 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Beneath the Diamond Sky
Author(s): Christopher Wakling
ISBN: 0-330-43587-6 / 978-0-330-43587-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2005 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Beneath the Diamond Sky
Author(s): Christopher Wakling
ISBN: 0-330-49352-3 / 978-0-330-49352-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2004 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Beneath the Diamond Sky
Author(s): Christopher Wakling
ISBN: 0-330-42702-4 / 978-0-330-42702-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU