book cover of Dawn of the Ice Age

Dawn of the Ice Age

(2014)
(The first book in the Lug series)
A novel by

 
 
A hilarious middle-grade novel about a misunderstood caveboy perfect for fans of Ice Age and Happy Feet.

Lug is a caveboy who would rather paint than club other caveboys. The clan even mocks him, calling him "Little Slug." Like all the other caveboys, Lug must enter the contest to become the clan's next Big Man and attempt to catch the Biggest Beast - even though he would much rather spend his days painting in his secret art cave.

When Lug is banished for failing to catch a jungle llama, he thinks he is alone in the world but finds others who believe in him: his clanmate Stony, and a new friend, Echo, a girl from a rival clan who can talk to animals and just may be prehistory's first vegetarian/animal rights activist. Together they face even bigger challenges - Lug discovers the Ice Age is coming and he has to bring the warring clans together to save them not only from the freeze but also from a particularly unpleasant migrating pride of saber-toothed tigers. It's no help that the elders are cavemen who can't seem to get the concept of climate change through their thick skulls.

With funny, anachronistic humor and charming characters, Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age is sure to be a hit with many readers.


Get it on Google Play

Praise for this book

"Lug makes the Ice Age sizzle." - Gordon Korman


Used availability for David Zeltser's Dawn of the Ice Age

Hardback Editions

September 2014 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age
Author(s): David Zeltser
ISBN: 1-60684-513-6 / 978-1-60684-513-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: EgmontUSA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2015 : USA Paperback

Title: Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age
Author(s): David Zeltser
ISBN: 1-60684-625-6 / 978-1-60684-625-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: EgmontUSA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Lug: Dawn of the Ice Age
Author(s): David Zeltser
Publisher: Carolrhoda Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA