New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

The Bucket

The Bucket

Memories of an Inattentive Childhood
A non fiction book by

The Bucket by Allan Ahlberg - the enthralling childhood story one of Britain's best-loved children's authors

'My mother, who was not my mother, I see her now, her raw red cleaner's hands twisting away at her apron as she struggled to speak. Adoption was a shameful business then in many people's eyes, the babies being mostly illegitimate. Better not speak of it.'

Allan Ahlberg was adopted as a baby. In 1938 he was picked up in London by his new mother and taken back to Oldbury in the Black Country. Now one of the most successful children's book writers in the world, in The Bucket he describes an oddly enchanted childhood lived out in an industrial town during the 1940s, in conditions which today we might describe as 'deprived'. He writes of a father in overalls smelling of wood shavings and oil, of a tough and fiercely protective mother who cries when he discovers that he is adopted, of life assurance policies ('6 if the child dies under age 3') and fearsome bacon slicers, of half-remembered trips to his mother's sister's grave and to the bluebell woods. And of his first days at school: 'Allan could do much better. He is most inattentive and dreamy at times' (school report, December 1946).

Using a mix of prose and poetry, supported by new drawings by his daughter Jessica and old photographs, The Bucket retrieves a childhood which lovers of Ahlberg's classic picturebooks The Baby's Catalogue, Burglar Bill and Peepo! might feel they have glimpsed before but which are now exquisitely brought to life.

This beautiful, exquisitely designed book, which will also appeal to fans of Gervase Phinn, Alan Bennett, Roald Dahl and Nigel Slater's Toast, will be loved by generations of Ahlberg fans.

'Allan Ahlberg has a string of children's classics to his name' Nicolette Jones, Guardian

Born in Croydon but brought up by his adopted parents in the Black Country town of Oldbury, Allan Ahlberg held jobs as a gravedigger, postman and plumber's mate before becoming a teacher. He taught for ten years before collaborating with his wife Janet on a series of much-loved, now classic children's picture books including Peepo!,Burglar Bill,Cops and Robbers, Each Peach Pear Plum, Woof!, Heard it in the Playground, Please Mrs Butler, The Boyhood of Burglar Bill, The Pencil, Friendly Matches, The Improbable Cat, Goldilocks, My Brother's Ghost, The Mighty Slide, Collected Poems, The Boy, the Wolf, the Sheep and the Lettuce and The Ha Ha Bonk Book.

Used availability for Allan Ahlberg's The Bucket

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Hardback Editions

September 2013 : USA Hardback
Title: The Bucket
Author(s): Allan Ahlberg
ISBN: 0-670-92303-6 / 978-0-670-92303-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Viking
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

September 2014 : UK Paperback
Title: The Bucket: Memories of an Inattentive Childhood
Author(s): Allan Ahlberg
ISBN: 0-241-96566-7 / 978-0-241-96566-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

September 2013 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: The Bucket: Memories of an Inattentive Childhood
Author(s): Allan Ahlberg
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for