New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Allan Ahlberg's picture

Allan Ahlberg

UK (1938 - )

Allan Ahlberg is one of Britain's best-loved children's writers. The author of over a hundred books, Allan has been delighting children of all ages for more than thirty years. Classic characters like Burglar Bill and The Jolly Postman have become firm favourites with a generation of children who are now reading them to their own offspring. Allan's work - particularly in partnership with his first wife, Janet - has been recognised by many of the top awards in children's books, including The Kate Greenaway Medal (twice), The Children's Book Award (twice) and The Signal Poetry Award.

Genres: Children's Fiction

Picture Books
The Pet Shop (1969)
Here Are the Brick Street Boys (1975)
A Place to Play (1975)
Sam the Referee (1975)
Make a Face (1976)
Fred's Dream (1976) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Big Bad Pig (1976)
Jeremiah in the Dark Woods (1977) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Burglar Bill (1977) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Cops and Robbers (1978) (with Janet Ahlberg)
The One and Only Two Heads (1979)
Two Wheels Two Heads (1979)
The Little Worm Book (1979)
Treasure Hunt (1980)
A Pair Of Sinners (1980)
Dinosaur Dreams (1980)
The Great Marathon Football Match (1981)
123 First Counting Book (1981)
Peepo! (1981) (with Janet Ahlberg)
The Baby's Catalogue (1982)
King Kangaroo (1983)
Mr. Wolf (1983)
Tell-Tale Tiger (1983)
Each Peach Pear Plum (1984) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Yum Yum (1984)
Happy Worm (1985)
Help! (1985)
Jolly Postman (1986)
The Cinderella Show (1986) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Push the Dog (1986)
Shirley's Shops (1986)
Blow Me Down! (1986)
One, Two, Flea! (1986)
Tell Us a Story (1986)
Bear's Birthday (1987)
Jumping (1987)
The Old Joke Book (1987)
The Shopping Expedition (1987)
So Can I (1987)
Starting School (1988) (with Janet Ahlberg)
The Worm Book (1989) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Bye Bye Baby (1989) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Fee Fi Fo Fum (1990)
The Black Cat (1990)
Mystery Tour (1990)
The Jolly Christmas Postman (1991) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Skeleton Crew (1992)
The Bear Nobody Wanted (1992) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Bumps in the Night (1993)
Give the Dog a Bone (1993)
It Was a Dark and Stormy Night (1993) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Who Stole the Pie? (1995)
The Jolly Pocket Postman (1995) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Peek-a-boo (1997) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Mockingbird (1998)
Baby Sleeps (1998) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Doll and Teddy (1998) (with Janet Ahlberg)
See the Rabbit (1998) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Monkey Do! (1998)
Shine a Light (1998) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Blue Buggy (1999) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Chicken, Chips and Peas (1999)
The Hen House (1999)
Slow Dog Falling (1999)
Fast Fox Goes Crazy (1999)
Grandma Fox (1999)
The Bravest Ever Bear (1999)
Storytime Giants (2000)
The Snail House (2000)
The Mother Hen Mysteries (2001)
The Man Who Wore All His Clothes (2001)
The Adventures of Bert (2001) (with Raymond Briggs)
Chickens in the Snow (2001)
The Woman Who Won Things (2002)
Miaow! (2002)
A Bit More Bert (2002) (with Raymond Briggs)
The Little Cat Baby (2003)
Half a Pig (2004)
The Children Who Smelled a Rat (2005)
The Runaway Dinner (2006)
Previously (2007)
The Pencil (2008)
The Baby in the Hat (2008)
Baby Sleeps Buggy Book (2010) (with Janet Ahlberg)
Goldilocks (2012)
Hooray for Bread! (2013)
Kicking a Ball (2014)
Alison Hubble (2016)


Search for