book cover of Down and Across
Added by 1 of our members

Down and Across

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
Discover the secret to success in this incisively funny debut, for fans of John Corey Whaley, David Arnold, and Ned Vizzini!

Scott Ferdowsi has a track record of quitting. Writing the Great American Novel? Three chapters. His summer internship? One week. His best friends know exactly what they want to do with the rest of their lives, but Scott can't commit to a breakfast cereal, let alone a passion. With college applications looming, Scott's parents pressure him to get serious about a career path like engineering or medicine. Desperate for help, he sneaks off to Washington, DC, to seek guidance from a famous professor who specializes in grit, the psychology of success.

He never expects an adventure to unfold out of what was supposed to be a one-day visit. But that's what Scott gets when he meets Fiora Buchanan, a ballsy college student whose life ambition is to write crossword puzzles. When the bicycle she lends him gets Scott into a high-speed chase, he knows he's in for the ride of his life. Soon, Scott finds himself sneaking into bars, attempting to pick up girls at the National Zoo, and even giving the crossword thing a try - all while opening his eyes to fundamental truths about who he is and who he wants to be.

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Praise for this book

"Arvin Ahmadi's earnest debut is a charming romp of a book, a heartfelt tour of a city through the bright eyes of a hopeful heart. Ahmadi proves his grit and then some with Down and Across." - David Arnold

"Quirky and charming, wise and unpredictable." - Khaled Hosseini

"Arvin Ahmadi's voice will be a dynamic entry into YA literature. Down and Across is a thrilling game-changer that touches on the universal journey of self-discovery with a deft hand and riotous humor." - Adam Silvera

"Charmingly funny, intensely relatable, and unexpectedly moving—Down and Across is a big-hearted gem of a debut from an exciting new voice." - Jasmine Warga


Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Study in Charlotte
(Charlotte Holmes, book 1)
Brittany Cavallaro

Used availability for Arvin Ahmadi's Down and Across

Hardback Editions

February 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Down and Across
Author(s): Arvin Ahmadi
ISBN: 0-425-28987-7 / 978-0-425-28987-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Down and Across
Author(s): Arvin Ahmadi
ISBN: 0-425-28988-5 / 978-0-425-28988-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Down and Across
Author(s): Ahmadi Arvin
ISBN: 0-451-47959-9 / 978-0-451-47959-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Viking Books USA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Down and Across
Author(s): Arvin Ahmadi
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon   


February 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Down and Across
Author(s): Arvin Ahmadi
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Down and Across
Author(s): Arvin Ahmadi
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Down and Across
Author(s): Arvin Ahmadi
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU