book cover of Three Novels by Csar Aira

Three Novels by Csar Aira

(2013)
An omnibus of novels by

 
 
Three novels by Cesar Aira combines three short novels by the cult Argentinian writer in one beautifully designed box set.

Irreverent, playful, provocative and prolific, Argentinian author Cesar Aira has written over seventy books and has been acknowledged internationally to be one of the most original and provocative authors in world literature. Collected here are three of his novellas, to be published for the very first time in the UK.

In Ghosts, an immigrant worker's family are squatting on the haunted construction site of a luxury condominium building. All of the workmen and their families see the ghosts which float around the place, but one teenage girl's interest in them becomes so intense that her mother realizes her life is in the balance. An Episode in the Life of a Landscape Painter tells of a point in the life of German painter Johann Moritz Rugendas, when he visits Latin America to paint its spectacular landscapes. There, a strange episode interrupts his trip and irreversibly marks him for life. And in The Literary Conference, a young translator called Cesar Aira travels to a literary conference, intent on world domination . . .

Praise for Cesar Aira:

'Once you've started reading Aira, you don't want to stop' Roberto Bolano

'Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W. G. Sebald' Los Angeles Times

Cesar Aira was born in Coronel Pringles, Argentina, in 1949, and has lived in Buenos Aires since 1967. One of the most prolific writers in Argentina, Aira has published more than seventy books.

Genre: General Fiction

Used availability for Cesar Aira's Three Novels by Csar Aira

Paperback Editions

June 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Three Novels by Cesar Aira (Penguin Essentials)
Author(s): Cesar Aira
ISBN: 0-241-98450-5 / 978-0-241-98450-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Three Novels by Cesar Aira (Penguin Essentials)
Author(s): Cesar Aira
ISBN: 0-241-20292-2 / 978-0-241-20292-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2013 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Three Novels by Cesar Aira (Penguin Essentials)
Author(s): Cesar Aira
ISBN: 0-241-96596-9 / 978-0-241-96596-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

June 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Three Novels by Cesar Aira (Penguin Essentials)
Author(s): Cesar Aira
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU