Salman Rushdie's picture

Salman Rushdie

(Ahmed Salman Rushdie)
India (b.1947)

Sir Salman Rushdie is the author of many novels including Grimus, Midnight's Children, Shame, The Satanic Verses, The Moor's Last Sigh, The Ground Beneath Her Feet, Fury and Shalimar the Clown. He has also published works of non-fiction including The Jaguar Smile, Imaginary Homelands, The Wizard of Oz and, as co-editor, The Vintage Book of Short Stories.

Genres: Literary Fiction, Young Adult Fantasy
Anthologies edited
   The Vintage Book of Indian Writing 1947-1997 (1997) (with Elizabeth West)
   Mirrorwork (1997) (with Elizabeth West)
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Salman Rushdie
Short stories
Good Advice is Rarer than Rubies (1987)

James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction Best Book winner (1981) : Midnight's Children
The Man Booker Prize Best Novel winner (1981) : Midnight's Children
The Man Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (1983) : Shame
The Man Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (1988) : The Satanic Verses
The Man Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (1995) : The Moor's Last Sigh
Whitbread Prize Best Novel winner (1995) : The Moor's Last Sigh
The Man Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (2005) : Shalimar the Clown
Whitbread Prize Best Novel nominee (2005) : Shalimar the Clown
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Best Novel nominee (2007) : Shalimar the Clown
The Man Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (2008) : The Enchantress of Florence
The Man Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (2019) : Quichotte

Books about Salman Rushdie
thumbthumbno image availableno image available
Salman Rushdie recommends
Epitaph of a Small Winner (1880)
Machado de Assis
"One of the masterpieces of Brazilian literature."
The Murderer (1978)
Roy Heath
"A beautiful writer and an unforgettable book."
The White Hotel (1981)
D M Thomas
"A novel of blazing imaginative and intellectual force."
In Custody (1984)
Anita Desai
"A remarkable piece of work... A magnificent novel."
Hunting Mister Heartbreak (1990)
Jonathan Raban
"When Raban describes America and Americans, he is unfailingly witty and entertaining."
Secrets (1998)
(Blood in the Sun, book 3)
Nuruddin Farah
"One of the finest contemporary African novelists."
White Teeth (1999)
Zadie Smith
"Zadie Smith's fizzing first novel is about how we all got here - from the Caribbean, from the Indian sub-continent, from the thirteenth place in a long-ago Olympic bicycle race - and about what here turned out to be. It's an astonishingly assured debut, funny and serious, and the voice has real writerly idiosyncrasy. I was delighted by WHITE TEETH, and often impressed. It has ... bite."
Pop (2001)
Kitty Aldridge
"Kitty Aldridge is a real discovery, a writer of precision, delicacy and wit, and her first novel is a rare delight."
Dark Matter (2002)
Philip Kerr
"A brilliantly innovative thriller writer."
Shodh (2003)
Taslima Nasrin
"...a difficult woman and an advocate(horror of horrors) of free love."
Selected Stories (2008)
Saadat Hasan Manto
"The undisputed master of the Indian short story."
The Girl On the Fridge (2008)
Etgar Keret
"A brilliant writer... completely unllike any writer I know. The voice of the next generation."
Infinity in the Palm of Her Hand (2009)
Gioconda Belli
"Infinity in the Palm of Her Hand takes on nothing less than the creation myth of Western culture."
Eating Air (2009)
Pauline Melville
"A genuinely original writer."
The Pleasure Seekers (2010)
Tishani Doshi
"This is a captivating, delightful novel. I was totally engaged by Tishani Doshi's people and by their world, and the language often rises... to powerful metaphorical heights."
The Year of the Runaways (2015)
Sunjeev Sahota
"All you can do is surrender, happily, to its power."
The Wildings (2016)
(Wildings, book 1)
Nilanjana Roy
"A delight to read. Eliot's Old Possum would have enjoyed these Practical Indian Cats."
Home Fire (2017)
Kamila Shamsie
"Kamila Shamsie is a writer of immense ambition and strength. She understands a great deal about the ways in which the world's many tragedies and histories shape one another."
Bob Honey Who Just Do Stuff (2018)
(Bob Honey, book 1)
Sean Penn
"It seems wrong to say that so dystopian a novel is great fun to read, but it’s true. I suspect that Thomas Pynchon and Hunter S. Thompson would love this book."
The Secrets Between Us (2018)
(Bhima, book 2)
Thrity Umrigar
"The women at the heart of this novel inhabit the harsh world of the urban Indian poor, and struggle separately and together for dignity and survival. Thrity Umrigar has written a moving human tale that vividly brings to life both the women and the city of Mumbai."
The Falconer (2019)
Dana Czapnik
"A deeply affecting tale of a young woman coming of age in a man's world."
Tyll (2020)
Daniel Kehlmann
"This is a brilliant and unputdownable novel. Kehlmann is the true inheritor of the German fabulist tradition that stretches back to the Brothers Grimm and even further, and in the legendary prankster figure of Tyll Ulenspiegel he has found his perfect avatar."
The Book of Anna (2020)
Carmen Boullosa
"Anna Karenina’s children and other fictions of Tolstoy’s—who know they aren’t exactly human—intertwine with Carmen Boullosa’s own fictions, who think they are real, and also with the Russian Revolution. A delightfully original and enjoyable book—Russian literature seen through Latin American eyes, and made into something new."
Homeland Elegies (2020)
Ayad Akhtar
"Passionate, disturbing, unputdownable."
In the Country of Others (2021)
Leïla Slimani
"The world of this novel-Morocco after World War II, leading up to the revolt against French colonialism-is beautifully created. Personal life, social life, everyday life spring vividly from the page, and we feel deeply for the family caught in the middle of the conflict of history. An exceptional, powerful novel from this justly celebrated writer."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors