book cover of Motherland
Added by 3 of our members

Motherland

(2017)
(The first book in the Natalya Ivanova series)
A novel by

 
 

A SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB STAR PICK.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE CRIME WRITERS ASSOCIATION DEBUT DAGGER AWARD.


'The dark heart of Putin's Russia beneath the glitz of St Petersburg provides the heady setting for this excellent and gripping debut . . . A Child 44 for Putin-land, this classy page-turner oozes with atmosphere.' DAVID YOUNG, bestselling author of STASI CHILD and STASI WOLF

'Gripping, authentic and fast-paced, this is a fine thriller that will delight fans of Martin Cruz Smith.'
WILLIAM RYAN, author of the CAPTAIN KOROLEV series


MOTHERLAND is the first in a gripping series of contemporary crime novels set in contemporary St Petersburg, featuring sharp and intriguing policewoman, Captain Natalya Ivanova.

Student Zena Dahl, the daughter of a Swedish millionaire, has gone missing in St Petersburg after a night out with a friend. The wealthy family are putting the force under pressure to get quick results. But Captain Natalya Ivanova discovers that the case is not as straightforward as it may seem. Dark, violent and insightful, Motherland twists and turns to a satisfyingly dramatic conclusion.

Motherland will appeal to fans of Jo Nesbo and Scandi dramas like The Killing and The Bridge.


'Natalya Ivanova does for St Petersburg what Martin Cruz Smith's Arkady Renko did for Soviet-era Moscow. . . taut, fast-moving and compellingly believable.' TOM CALLAGHAN, author of A KILLING WINTER


What readers are saying:

'One of my favorite procedurals with a female lead set overseas was the Saudi trilogy by Zoe Ferraris. If the next two are as unique and satisfying as this, Abson's place beside Ferraris will be well earned.' MenReadingBooks.com

'Scandinavian noir takes a detour through Russia in this first in a new series featuring an idealistic policewoman surrounded by compromised officials and fellow policemen. . . Gritty, dark, fast-paced, and satisfying. Sno-Isle Libraries

'This is an absolute corker of a crime fiction thriller debut from the gifted Abson set in Putin's contemporary Russia, a fearsome, kleptocratic, scary and lawless nation.' NetGalley reviewer

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Senior Detective Natalya Ivanova does for St Petersburg what Martin Cruz Smith's Arkady Renko did for Gorky Park... taut, fast-moving and compellingly believable." - Tom Callaghan

"Gripping, authentic and fast-paced-this is a fine thriller that will delight fans of Martin Cruz Smith." - William Ryan

"The dark heart of Putin's Russia beneath the glitz of St Petersburg provides the heady setting for this excellent and gripping debut. Abson, who was shortlisted for a Crime Writers Debut Dagger for Motherland, is surely a name to watch. A Child 44 for Putin-land, this classy page-turner oozes with atmosphere." - David Young


Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Killing Winter
(Inspector Akyl Borubaev, book 1)
Tom Callaghan
thumb
Stasi Child
(Oberleutnant Karen Muller, book 1)
David Young
thumb
Silesian Station
(John Russell, book 2)
David Downing
thumb
Some Kind of Peace
(Siri Bergman)
Camilla Grebe and Åsa Träff

Used availability for G D Abson's Motherland

Paperback Editions

April 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Motherland: A gripping crime thriller set in the dark heart of Putin's Russia
Author(s): G D Abson
ISBN: 1-907324-83-6 / 978-1-907324-83-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Mirror Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Motherland
Author(s): G D Abson
Publisher: Mirror Books
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Motherland
Author(s): G D Abson
Publisher: Mirror Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Motherland
Author(s): G D Abson
Publisher: Mirror Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Motherland
Author(s): G D Abson
Publisher: Mirror Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

December 2017 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Motherland: A gripping crime thriller set in the dark heart of Putin's Russia (The Natalya Ivanova thrillers Book 1)
Author(s): G D Abson
Publisher: Mirror Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU