book cover of A Mother\'s Fight
Added by 20 members
 

A Mother's Fight

(2022)
(The second book in the Lancashire Girls series)
A novel by

 
 

Will love be enough to protect her children?

After her husband Jack is transported to Australia as a convict, Hannah and her children are sent to the workhouse. Hearing nothing from Jack and believing he’s dead, Hannah reluctantly agrees to marry widower Ellis Duxbury.

But her children must remain in the workhouse, and when they are sent away as apprentices, it’s up to Hannah to track them down.

On Christmas Eve, Hannah is blessed with a miracle when Jack returns to the village. Yet more trouble lies ahead as Hannah is arrested, accused of bigamy and threatened with deportation herself. Having fought so long for her and her children’s freedom, Hannah must once more dig deep to keep her family together.

A gripping and inspiring saga for readers of Val Wood and Emma Hornby.

Praise for A Mother's Fight



‘I loved reading this book. It was so well written I couldn’t put it down.’⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

‘An absorbing story… I am never normally a fan of historical fiction but this book had me hooked from page one!’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

A lovely emotional read with good characterisation. Well written storyline.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

‘I enjoyed this exciting read and the poor plight of Hannah and her children. It was well written with a great story and interesting characters.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

‘What a brilliant book – so many emotions! If you love family saga you will definitely love A Mother’s Fight.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

‘Love Libby Ashworth books and this was no exception. It followed on so well from The Convict’s Wife… the style of writing hooked me. I really enjoyed it and highly recommend this absorbing tale.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review



Genre: Sagas

Praise for this book

"Totally absorbing." - Lyn Andrews


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Libby Ashworth's A Mother's Fight


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors