book cover of The Girl from Cobb Street
Added by 14 of our members

The Girl from Cobb Street

(2015)
(The first book in the Daisy's War series)
A novel by

 
 
She longed for a family of her own...

Growing up in an orphanage on East London's Cobb Street, Daisy Driscoll never felt the warm heart of home. Forging her own way in the world, determined Daisy struggles to make ends meet as the country finds itself on the brink of the Second World War.

Her fortunes change when she finds solace in the arms of Gerald Mortimer, a handsome cavalry subaltern in the Indian army. Finally, Daisy has found someone to love of her very own. But soon she discovers she's pregnant and fate was never going to give her an easy ride.

Gerald is not all he claims to be and, as he leads her along a path of danger and scandal, Daisy must find the strength within herself to get through her darkest hour.

For fans of Nadine Dorries, Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee.

The Daisy's War trilogy:

The Girl from Cobb Street - Book 1

The Nurse's War - Book 2

Daisy's Long Road Home - Book 3

Each story in the Daisy's War series can be read and enjoyed as a standalone story - or as part of this compelling trilogy charting the fortunes of Daisy Driscoll.

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Merryn Allingham's The Girl from Cobb Street

Hardback Editions

February 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Girl From Cobb Street
Author(s): Merryn Allingham
ISBN: 0-7505-4351-5 / 978-0-7505-4351-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

2001 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Girl from Cobb Street (Daisy's War) (Daisys War 1)
Author(s): Merryn Allingham
ISBN: 1-84845-376-0 / 978-1-84845-376-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: HARPER COLLINS
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

January 2015 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Girl From Cobb Street
Author(s): Merryn Allingham
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK