New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Assault

The Assault

(The fifth book in the Pentagonia series)
A novel by

The author of the brilliant and highly acclaimed memoir, Before Night Falls, Reinaldo Arenas concluded his sequence of five novels - at once a "secret history of Cuba" and a writer's autobiography - with an allegorical satire. In The Assault, he paints a harrowing, yet at times boldly entertaining, Kafkaesque picture of a dehumanized people and the despair of an observer/narrator himself clinging to sanity. This profane narrative, filled with righteous rage, takes us on a surreal journey through a blackly humorous shadowland where philosophical discussion, homosexuality, and forgetting the words to heroic anthems are comparable crimes - and a cockroach hunt makes a national holiday. With echoes of Rabelais, Swift, Orwell, and the films of Lois Bunuel, The Assault crowns the work of one of the most visionary writers to have emerged from Castro's Cuba, a writer whom Octavio Paz called "remarkable... as much for his intellectual dignity as for his talent."


Similar books by other authors

(Moldenke, book 1)
David Ohle

Used availability for Reinaldo Arenas's The Assault

Hardback Editions

June 1994 : USA Hardback

Title: The Assault
Author(s): Reinaldo Arenas
ISBN: 0-670-84066-1 / 978-0-670-84066-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Viking
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

June 1995 : UK Paperback

Title: The Assault (Pentagonia)
Author(s): Reinaldo Arenas
ISBN: 0-14-015718-2 / 978-0-14-015718-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA