book cover of Children of Blood and Bone
Added by 55 of our members

Children of Blood and Bone

(2018)
(The first book in the Legacy of Orisha series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Andre Norton Award Best Book
Instant New York Times Bestseller
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018

2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist
Paste Magazine’s 30 Best YA Novels of 2018

Newsweek’s 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globe’s Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018

2019 YALSA Teen's Top Ten List

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.


They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of the year.” Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1
New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"High stakes, a captivating fantasy landscape, and a brave heroine worth rooting for make Children of Blood and Bone unlike anything I've ever read." - Kami Garcia

"A magnificent, heartrending, earthshaking debut." - Daniel José Older


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Twilight Robbery
(Fly by Night, book 2)
Frances Hardinge
thumb
Outside In
(Inside Out, book 2)
Maria V Snyder
thumb
The Wizard Heir
(Heir Chronicles, book 2)
Cinda Williams Chima

Used availability for Tomi Adeyemi's Children of Blood and Bone

Hardback Editions

December 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha 1)
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
ISBN: 1-5290-3924-X / 978-1-5290-3924-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone: The Orisha Legacy (Legacy of Orisha)
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
ISBN: 1-4328-6409-2 / 978-1-4328-6409-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha (1))
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
ISBN: 1-250-17097-4 / 978-1-250-17097-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha, 1)
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
ISBN: 1-250-29462-2 / 978-1-250-29462-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan USA
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
ISBN: 1-5098-7135-7 / 978-1-5098-7135-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone: 1 (Legacy of Orisha)
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
ISBN: 1-250-19412-1 / 978-1-250-19412-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan USA International ed
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

January 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Children Of Blood And Bone (Legacy of Orisha)
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
ISBN: 1-5290-1518-9 / 978-1-5290-1518-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Macmillan Australia
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Children Of Blood And Bone (Legacy of Orisha)
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
ISBN: 1-5290-1519-7 / 978-1-5290-1519-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Macmillan Australia
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha (1))
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
ISBN: 1-4272-9551-4 / 978-1-4272-9551-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha)
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha)
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha Book 1)
Author(s): Tomi Adeyemi
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA