book cover of The Sculptress
Added by 4 of our members

The Sculptress

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
From acclaimed author V.S. Alexander comes an absorbing, immersive novel set during World War I, as a talented and ambitious artist finds an unusual calling.
 
May 1917: The elegant streets of Boston are thousands of miles away from the carnage of the Western Front. Yet even here, amid the clatter of horse-drawn carriages and automobiles, it is impossible to ignore the war raging across Europe. Emma Lewis Swan’s husband, Tom, has gone to France, eager to do his duty as a surgeon. Emma, a sculptress, has stayed behind, pursuing her art despite being dismissed by male critics. On the bustling sidewalk she spies a returned soldier. His brutally scarred face inspires first pity, and then something more—a determination to use her skill to make masks for disfigured soldiers.
 
Leaving Boston for France also means leaving behind Linton Bower, a fiery, gifted artist determined to win her. Emma’s union with Tom has been steady yet passionless, marred by guilt over a choice she made long ago. In Paris, she crafts intricate, lifelike masks to restore these wounded men to the world. But in the course of her new career she will encounter one man who compels her to confront the secret she’s never revealed, not even to Tom. Only by casting off the façade she has worn for so long can she pursue a path through heartbreak and turmoil toward her own unexpected future. . . .
 
 
Praise for V.S. Alexander’s The Traitor
 
“Alexander brings his signature commitment to historical accuracy to The Traitor, immersing readers in the intrigue of the resistance. Fans of Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See and Alex Rosenberg's The Girl from Krakow will fall under the spell of this powerfully moving novel.”
Booklist
 

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Over the Rainbow
(Liverpool Sisters, book 3)
Katie Flynn

Paperback Editions

February 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Sculptress
Author(s): V S Alexander
ISBN: 1-4967-2040-7 / 978-1-4967-2040-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kensington
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

February 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Sculptress
Author(s): V S Alexander
Publisher: Kensington Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU