book cover of A Promise of Fire
Added by 144 members
 

A Promise of Fire

(2016)
(The first book in the Kingmaker Chronicles series)
A novel by

 
 
KINGDOMS WILL RISE AND FALL FOR HER

Cat Fisa isn't who she pretends to be. She's perfectly content living disguised as a soothsayer in a traveling circus, avoiding the destiny the Gods—and her dangerous family—have saddled her with. As far as she's concerned, the magic humming within her blood can live and die with her. She won't be a pawn in anyone's game.

But then she locks eyes with an ambitious warlord from the magic-deprived south and her illusion of safety is shattered forever.

Griffin knows Cat is the Kingmaker—the woman who divines truth through lies—and he wants her to be a powerful weapon for his newly conquered realm. Kidnapping her off the street is simple enough, but keeping her by his side is infuriatingly tough. Cat fights him at every turn, showing a ferocity of spirit that burns hot...and leaves him desperate for more. But can he ever hope to prove to his once-captive that he wants her there by his side as his equal, his companion...and maybe someday, his Queen?

Discover exciting bonus material, including maps, illustrations, and an expanded look at the world of Thalyria. Fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Scarlett St. Clair and Sarah J. Maas will burn for this spicy romantic fantasy.

The Kingmaker Chronicles:

A Promise of Fire (Book 1)

Breath of Fire (Book 2)

Heart on Fire (Book 3)

A Curse of Queens (A Kingmaker Chronicles novel, Book 1)

Readers are raving about the Kingmaker Chronicles:

"Give this to your Game of Thrones fans." —Booklist STARRED Review

"Loved it!" —ELOISA JAMES, New York Times bestselling author

"Utterly breathtaking!" —DARYNDA JONES, New York Times bestselling author

"Masterful worldbuilding." —Kirkus STARRED Review

"Absolutely fabulous." —C.L. WILSON, New York Times bestselling author

"Magic, action, romance—everything I love in a series." —JENNIFER ESTEP, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

"Sweeping in its world building and poignant in its emotion. A Homeric trilogy not to be missed." —GRACE DRAVEN, USA Today bestselling author

"Easily my favorite book of 2016!" —Bookriot

"Delivers with both heat and heart—loved it!" —JEFFE KENNEDY, award-winning author

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Praise for this book

"Fantasy romance at its finest! This book has it all: A heroine full of spunk and spark, a hero full of mystery and masculinity, and an epic story full of intrigue and action. You will fall in love with these delicious characters. This book is utterly breathtaking!" - Darynda Jones

"Soooo good!! The characters are wonderfully likeable, the world is unique and full of intrigue, and there's just this deep sense of warmth to the book that I loved and that kept me inhaling the story. I CANNOT WAIT to read the next book!!!" - Nalini Singh

"A sexy, mysterious fantasy that straddles the line between mythic adventure and paranormal sizzle." - Damon Suede


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Amanda Bouchet's A Promise of Fire


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors