book cover of The Orphan House
Added by 33 of our members
 

The Orphan House

(2018)
(The Foundling's Daughter)
A novel by

 
 
Baby born September 5th 1934, approximately. Place of birth, unknown; father, unknown; mother unknown.

Present day. Sarah Jennings knows there's one place she can go to find some peace and quiet during her difficult divorce. But arriving at her beloved father's home in the countryside, she finds him unwell and hunched over boxes of files, studying the records from Cedar Hall, the crumbling orphanage in town. He says that hidden behind the wrought iron gates and overgrown ivy are secrets about their family, and he asks for her help.

Sarah goes to speak to Connie Burroughs, the only person left alive who lived at Cedar Hall. Her questions take Connie from the comfort of her nursing home right back to a chilly night in 1934, when as a little girl she saw her own father carrying a newborn baby, bundled in rags, that he said he'd found near the broken front gate. The day Connie began to protect his secrets.

But just as Sarah begins to convince Connie that the truth can set her free, she realizes that unlocking the past might have heartbreaking consequences...

An emotional and uplifting reminder that incredible acts of courage can change the course of history, Ann Bennett's powerful tale is inspired by the lives of the children who lived at her great-grandfather's orphanage. Fans of Before We Were Yours, The Orphan's Tale, and The Orphan Train will be hooked.

This book was previously published as The Foundling's Daughter.

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Ann Bennett's The Orphan House

Paperback Editions

October 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Orphan House
Author(s): Ann Bennett
ISBN: 1-5387-0751-9 / 978-1-5387-0751-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Forever
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Orphan House: Absolutely gripping and heartbreaking historical fiction
Author(s): Ann Bennett
ISBN: 1-83888-156-5 / 978-1-83888-156-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Foundling's Daughter
Author(s): Ann Bennett
ISBN: 1-79061-605-0 / 978-1-79061-605-3
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Orphan House: Absolutely Gripping and Heartbreaking Historical Fiction
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


February 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Orphan House: Absolutely Gripping and Heartbreaking Historical Fiction
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Orphan House: Absolutely Gripping and Heartbreaking Historical Fiction
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Orphan House: Absolutely Gripping and Heartbreaking Historical Fiction
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Orphan House: Absolutely gripping and heartbreaking historical fiction
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU