book cover of The Tobacconist\'s Wife
Added by 8 of our members

The Tobacconist's Wife

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
From the bestselling author of The Slum Angel.

After losing her father, Thea Goodson is alone in the world.

She has a husband. But Ernie is a brutal man, who uses his fists to keep Thea in line.

And besides, Ernie Goodson has secrets – secrets that even his wife cannot share.

And yet in Victorian Yorkshire, appearances are everything - and they must be maintained whatever the cost.

Thea has no choices but to cover up her bruises with powder, and keep a forced smile on her face, while she looks after Ernie’s home and tobacco shop.

There seems to be no other option.

That is, until a handsome and well-bred stranger arrives to set up shop next door…

Can Thea escape her miserable marriage and break from the conventions of society? Or will the clutches of her abusive husband confine her forever?

The Tobacconist’s Wife is the latest book from AnneMarie Brear, the highly acclaimed author of bestselling The Slum Angel. Perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson, Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Over the Rainbow
(Liverpool Sisters, book 3)
Katie Flynn

Used availability for AnneMarie Brear's The Tobacconist's Wife

Paperback Editions

November 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Tobacconist's Wife: An emotionally absorbing Victorian saga
Author(s): Annemarie Brear
ISBN: 1-83901-217-X / 978-1-83901-217-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Lume Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

November 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Tobacconist's Wife: An emotionally absorbing Victorian saga
Author(s): AnneMarie Brear
Publisher: Lume Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU