book cover of The Fading of the Light
Added by 11 of our members
 

The Fading of the Light

(2021)
(The second book in the Spindrift Trilogy series)
A novel by

 
 
'Lush, romantic and full of intrigue' Tracy Rees, Richard & Judy bestselling author

From the award-winning author of The Apothecary's Daughter comes The Fading of the Light, the next book in the Spindrift Trilogy - a beautifully evocative, family drama, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Elizabeth Jane Howard's Cazalet Chronicles.

1902. Spindrift House, Cornwall

Edith Fairchild, deserted by her feckless husband Benedict eight years before, has established the thriving Spindrift artists' community by the sea and found deep and lasting love with Pascal. They have accepted that they cannot marry, but when Benedict returns unexpectedly to Spindrift House, all Edith and Pascal's secret hopes and dreams of a joyous life together are overturned.

Benedict's arrival shatters the peaceful and creative atmosphere of the close-knit community. When Edith will not allow him back into her bed, the conflict escalates and he sets in motion a chain of tragic events that reverberate down the years and threatens the happiness of the community forever . . .

Why do readers love Charlotte Betts?

'
A deeply romantic novel whose vivid characters will linger in your mind' Margaret Kaine

'
Romantic, poignant and gripping . . . a fabulous holiday read' Deborah Swift

'A stunning and captivating read . . . full of drama, love, loss and life' Book Literati

'
Lush, romantic and full of intrigue. I loved the idyllic setting of a Cornish artists' community in Edwardian times. A book to drift away with' Tracy Rees, Richard & Judy bestselling author

'
This is a story filled with secrets and revelations. It is one that lingers in the heart long after the final page is turned. The Fading of the Light is a must read for anyone who wants to be absorbed as well as utterly enchanted' Carol McGrath

'
A compelling story, beautifully written and brought alive with rich historical detail . . . I was delighted to be taken back to Cornwall' Liz Harris

'
A rich cast of characters, whose complex personalities I totally believed in, pulled me into this absorbing story' Molly Green

'
An absorbing read with an interesting set of characters that vividly depicts the bohemian life of these Edwardian artists and their family dramas' Janet MacLeod Trotter



Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Charlotte Betts's The Fading of the Light

Paperback Editions

July 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Fading of the Light: a heart-wrenching historical family saga set on the Cornish coast (The Spindrift Trilogy)
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
ISBN: 0-349-42302-4 / 978-0-349-42302-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Piatkus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Fading of the Light: a heart-wrenching historical family saga set on the Cornish coast (The Spindrift Trilogy)
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
ISBN: 0-349-42300-8 / 978-0-349-42300-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Piatkus Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Fading Of The Light
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
ISBN: 1-4448-4748-1 / 978-1-4448-4748-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

January 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Fading of the Light: The Sprindrift Trilogy, Book 2
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon   


January 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Fading of the Light: The Sprindrift Trilogy, Book 2
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Fading of the Light: The Sprindrift Trilogy, Book 2
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Fading of the Light: The Sprindrift Trilogy, Book 2
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Fading of the Light: a heart-wrenching historical family saga set on the Cornish coast (The Spindrift Trilogy)
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
Publisher: Piatkus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Fading of the Light: a heart-wrenching historical family saga set on the Cornish coast (The Spindrift Trilogy)
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
Publisher: Piatkus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU