book cover of Sugar Birds
Added by 12 members
 

Sugar Birds

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
NORTHWEST WASHINGTON STATE, 1985

For years, Harris Hayes has taught his daughter, Aggie, the ways of the northern woods, where she sketches nests of wild birds as an antidote to sadness. Then her depressed, unpredictable mother forbids her to climb the trees that give her sanctuary and comfort. Angry, ten-year-old Aggie accidentally lights a tragic fire and flees downriver. She lands her boat near untamed forest, then hides among trees and creatures she believes are her only friends—determined to remain undiscovered.

A search party gathers hours after Celia arrives at her grandmother’s nearby farm. Hurting from her parents’ breakup, she also plans to run. But when she joins the hunt for Aggie, she meets two irresistible young men who compel her to stay. One is autistic; the other, dangerous.

Ideal for fans of
Under the Magnolias, Where the Crawdads Sing, and The Great Alone, Sugar Birds is a layered, riveting story set in the breathtaking natural world—where characters encounter the mending power of forgiveness, for themselves and for those who have failed them.

“A true page-turner . . . An engrossing tale.” Kirkus Reviews

  • 2022 CHRISTIANITY TODAY’S BOOK AWARDS: Award of Merit – Fiction

    2022 ACFW CAROL AWARDS: Winner - Debut Fiction

    2022 IPPY AWARDS: Gold Winner - Best First Book, Fiction

    2022 CHRISTY AWARD FINALIST - First Novel

    2022 NAUTILUS AWARDS: Silver Winner - Fiction/Large Publishers

    2022 INTERNATIONAL BOOK AWARDS: Winner - Inspirational Fiction and Cross-Genre Fiction; Finalist - General Fiction, Literary Fiction

    2022 NEXT GENERATION INDIE BOOK AWARDS: Finalist - General Fiction/Novel

    2021 AMERICAN FICTION AWARDS: Winner - Literary Fiction, General Fiction, and Cross-Genre Fiction; Finalist - Religious Fiction

    2021 BEST BOOK AWARDS: Winner - Inspirational Fiction; Finalist - Cross-Genre Fiction

    2021 FOREWORD INDIES: Silver Winner - Religious Fiction; Finalist - General Adult Fiction

    2021 READER’S FAVORITE AWARDS: Silver Medalist - Inspirational Fiction
    Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"Cheryl Bostrom’s hard-to-put-down Sugar Birds reminds me of the classic, My Side of the Mountain-one of those rare books that appeal to every age; full of depth, pages that turn quickly, and most of all, ebullient truth." - Katherine James

"Bostrom’s deft language, deep reverence for the natural world, and keen understanding of the human condition merge in this enduring novel of forgiveness and hope." - Ashley E Sweeney


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Cheryl Grey Bostrom's Sugar Birds


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors