book cover of Scars on the Face of God
Added by 3 of our members
 

Scars on the Face of God

(2019)
A novel by

 
 

Prayers sometimes land on the Devil's ears.



"Scars on the Face of God is a brilliant novel. Congratulations on hitting one out of the park... " -Jonathan Maberry, NYT bestselling author and winner of multiple Bram Stoker Awards

The year is 1964. A construction project in the town of Three Bridges, Pennsylvania unearths an ancient sewer. Inside is a mystery dating to the 19th century: the hidden skeletons of countless infants.

As the secrets of Three Bridges begin to surface, an ancient codex is discovered in the attic of a local orphanage. A bible containing writings in Lucifer's own hand.

The parish priest and a church handyman set out to discover the truth. But a series of strange visions and horrifying tragedies begin, and the darkest secret of all becomes clear:

The town of Three Bridges is marked, and the Devil is coming out to play.

For fans of Stephen King and Stranger Things.

______________________________

Praise for Chris Bauer and SCARS ON THE FACE OF GOD:

"...Bauer writes with passion and intensity, tackling the mysteries of faith and fear. Hotter than the flames of hell." - Scott Nicholson, author of Scattered Ashes, They Hunger, The Red Church, The Harvest.

"These characters... are exquisitely drawn, fully-fleshed beings that leap from the page to engage you in the plot... The writing is pitch-perfect, from the language used to the intricate weaving of plot threads. This is a talented writer, a name I will expect to find on New York Times best-seller lists. - Kelly Jenkins, SF Crowsnest Review

_______________________________

What readers are saying:

"...at once beautiful and terrifying."

"Absolutely great book, well on par with anything Stephen King has written."

"...one of the best horror novels I have read in a long time. It is truly frightening."

"This is an excellent book. Well written, with a taut plot and well-defined likable characters."

"Engaging theme, brilliant story, wonderfully written and a pleasure to get lost in. What an amazing tale!"

"The unexpected and delightful treats are the numerous "AHA!" moments that make you think about who you are, what you are, and why you are."

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Chris Bauer's Scars on the Face of God

Paperback Editions

May 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Scars on the Face of God
Author(s): Chris Bauer
ISBN: 1-951249-42-9 / 978-1-951249-42-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scars on the Face of God
Author(s): Chris Bauer
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


June 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scars on the Face of God
Author(s): Chris Bauer
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scars on the Face of God
Author(s): Chris Bauer
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scars on the Face of God
Author(s): Chris Bauer
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Scars on the Face of God
Author(s): Chris Bauer
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU