book cover of The Pretty One
Added by 18 members
 

The Pretty One

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
Nell is the perfect child; more beautiful and more likeable and more loveable than me. If my pretty little sister never came home again, I’d finally be free from the terrible secret we share…

Anna is a wonderful mother. She gave up a career she loved to stay home with her children and her kind, polite daughters, Nell and Ivy, are a credit to her. As is Bay, her stepdaughter, whom Anna adores as much as her own two girls. But everything changes the day Anna’s middle daughter’s beauty catches the eye of a stranger in a café…

Quiet, sensitive Nell doesn’t want to have her face on a billboard for all to see. But she knows her family desperately needs the money, and perhaps it would be nice to have her mother’s full attention for the first time since Bay arrived? Could this be the escape from her stepsister’s twisted games Nell has been longing for?

But the moment Nell steps in front of a camera, the devastating secret she and Bay have been keeping breaks the surface – and the bonds of this close-knit family forever. But with both Nell and Bay insisting they’re innocent, can either girl really be trusted?

As Anna’s perfect blended family unravels around her, she is forced to pick a side. To save one daughter, Anna must betray another. Choosing the wrong girl will be more dangerous than anyone could ever have imagined…

An unputdownable read-all-night family drama that explores the dark consequences of sibling rivalry and the heart-wrenching emotional cost of keeping secrets from those you love. Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies, Little Fires Everywhere and My Dark Vanessa.

Everyone is talking about Clare Boyd:


Wow wow wow!Incredibly well written and I was hooked from page one... So many twists and turns.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘I couldn't stop reading this fabulous book. Had me on the edge of my seat until I reached the mind-blowing conclusionI couldn't stop reading!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘I was really taken by surprise… So much emotional turmoil, and so much suspense, it will have you sitting on the edge of your seat until the very last page.’ Goodreads reviewer

Wow, this was unputdownable!Highly recommend.’ Goodreads reviewer

Gave me the chills, honestly!… I could not stop reading!... Top notch and I will recommend this to everyone!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Right from the start I was hooked and I couldn’t flip the pages fast enough… creating suspense in the lead up to the explosive finale… a chilling and addictive plot, well developed characters… I can’t recommend highly enough!Shelley’s Book Nook

Wow, I could not put this book down… kept me guessing literally until the end.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

A deliciously dark and twisted thriller which will keep you guessing until the very end. Concluding with an ending which you will never guess… it will send chills straight down your spine!!’ Stardust Book Reviews


Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Clare Boyd's The Pretty One


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors