book cover of Roman Ice
Added by 13 members
 

Roman Ice

(2018)
(The first book in the Darwin Lacroix series)
A novel by

 
 
His priceless discovery will make history… if someone doesn’t steal it first.Darwin Lacroix needs to avenge his family’s disgrace. Archaeologists dismissed their claims of Roman treasure buried in the far north, laughing off an ancient scroll found under Mt. Vesuvius. Until now.

A recently uncovered diamond cache in Iceland proves the existence of Emperor Nero’s long-lost fortune. Darwin rushes to Reykjavik, but when a powerful cartel joins the hunt, his quest becomes a race to reveal the mother lode first.

With a volcanologist and an unsavory diamond expert on board, Darwin’s search for riches meets lethal obstacles at every turn. Deep underground, he’s faced with choices that could determine who gets out alive.

ROMAN ICE is a thrilling suspense novel for fans of Steve Berry, Clive Cussler, Daniel Silva, and Ernest Dempsey. If you like alternate history, archaeological adventures, and complex characters, then you’ll love Dave Bartell’s action-packed tale.

What reviewers say:

"This tale is fast-paced from beginning to end. It simply grabs ahold of the reader and won't let go."

"...vivid imagery and rich character development"

"... the human connection mattered even more than the search for knowledge."

”I give this 5 stars...like being on (my perception of) an actual dig! More twists and turns than the lava tubes!!
”Pure Magic. Loved it from start to end. Believable characters and solid plot. Makes you want to take up caving. Would love to know what he did with the diamonds.”

“Great story with a lot real life scenarios based on Roman history, science infused without too many boring details, great characters coming to life in survival mode, suspense, along with some humor thrown in. I believe this is a first novel for the author; can’t wait for the next one!”

”An unusual idea for a plot, well done presentation interesting characters with complex reason for joining Darwin. The author made you think that this could be real. The writing is concise, to the point. The science is real.well researched.”

“true page-turner read in two days. Could not put it down. I’ve been in lava tubes in Hawaii and the concept of travel in them really hit home for me. Great story, always taking different turns, and a great ending.”

”... a brilliant adventure tale which I first thought I’d hate (I’m claustrophobic), but I was thoroughly engaged from the arrival in Iceland until the last page. I was hooked by the fascinating concept, the realistic and surprisingly in depth characterization, and the plot which was studded with great complications and a feeling of urgency. The author gave credibility to his wild tale by his very realistic portrayal of some lovable characters whom I hope to encounter again very soon. Could be the next Indiana Jones series!”




Genre: Thriller

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Dave Bartell's Roman Ice


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors