New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Dream Lover

The Dream Lover

(2015)
(A book in the George Sand series)
A novel by

 
 
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER . NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY USA TODAY . Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand - which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert.

At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a loveless marriage, and her family's estate in the French countryside to start a new life in Paris. There, she gives herself a new name - George Sand - and pursues her dream of becoming a writer, embracing an unconventional and even scandalous lifestyle.

Paris in the nineteenth century comes vividly alive, illuminated by the story of the loves, passions, and fierce struggles of a woman who defied the confines of society. Sand's many lovers and friends include Frederic Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Franz Liszt, Eugene Delacroix, Victor Hugo, Marie Dorval, and Alfred de Musset. As Sand welcomes fame and friendship, she fights to overcome heartbreak and prejudice, failure and loss. Though considered the most gifted genius of her time, she works to reconcile the pain of her childhood, of disturbing relationships with her mother and daughter, and of her intimacies with women and men. Will the life she longs for always be just out of reach - a dream?

Brilliantly written in luminous prose, and with remarkable insights into the heart and mind of a literary force, The Dream Lover tells the unforgettable story of a courageous, irresistible woman.

Praise for The Dream Lover

"Exquisitely captivating . . . Sand's story is so timely and modern in an era when gender and sexual roles are upended daily." - USA Today

"Fantastic . . . a provocative and dazzling portrait . . . Berg tells a terrific story, while simultaneously exploring sexuality, art, and the difficult personal choices women artists in particular made - then and now - in order to succeed. . . . The book, imagistic and perfectly paced, full of dialogue that clips along, is a reader's dream." - The Boston Globe

"Absorbing . . . an armchair traveler's delight . . . Berg rolls out the wonders of nineteenth-century Paris in cinematic bursts that capture its light, its street life, its people and sounds. . . . The result is an illuminating portrait of a magnificent woman whose story is enriched by the delicate brush strokes of Berg's colorful imagination." - Chicago Tribune

"There is authority and confidence in the storytelling that makes the pages fly." - The New York Times

"Berg weaves an enchanting novel about the real life of George Sand." - Us Weekly

"Lavishly described . . . Berg uses her own skill as a writer to graphically present the reader with a clear picture of a brilliant, yet flawed woman." - Fredericksburg Free Lance - Star

"[A] beautiful, imaginative re-creation . . . Berg's years-long immersion in the writings of and about Sand has resulted in a remarkable channeling of Sand's voice." - Library Journal (starred review)

"Berg offers vivid, sensual detail and a sensitive portrayal of the yearning and vulnerability behind Sand's bold persona." - Publishers Weekly

"A thoroughly pleasant escape . . . [Sand is] intoxicating, beautiful, gifted, desirous, unconventional and heartbroken." - Kirkus Reviews

    Get it on Google Play

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Elizabeth Berg's The Dream Lover

Hardback Editions

April 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Dream Lover: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Berg
ISBN: 0-8129-9315-2 / 978-0-8129-9315-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

March 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dream Lover: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Berg
ISBN: 0-345-53380-1 / 978-0-345-53380-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dream Lover: A Novel (Random House Large Print)
Author(s): Elizabeth Berg
ISBN: 0-8041-9502-1 / 978-0-8041-9502-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

March 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Dream Lover: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Berg
ISBN: 1-4915-7814-9 / 978-1-4915-7814-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2016 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Dream Lover: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Berg
ISBN: 1-5226-4901-8 / 978-1-5226-4901-4
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Dream Lover: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Berg
ISBN: 1-4915-7812-2 / 978-1-4915-7812-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Dream Lover: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Berg
ISBN: 1-4915-7813-0 / 978-1-4915-7813-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2015 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Dream Lover: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Berg
ISBN: 1-4915-7815-7 / 978-1-4915-7815-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dream Lover: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Berg
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dream Lover: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Berg
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Dream Lover: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Berg
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA