book cover of The Sleeper
Added by 4 of our members

The Sleeper

(2013)
A novel by

 
 
A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton.

Lara Finch is living a lie.

Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace. Only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her.

For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she's ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets. For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her....

Emily Barr is the well-loved author of the best-selling Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and 10 other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Emily Barr's The Sleeper

Paperback Editions

July 2013 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Sleeper: Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off. A dark and gripping psychological thriller.
Author(s): Emily Barr
ISBN: 0-7553-8800-3 / 978-0-7553-8800-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2013 : Paperback
thumb

Title: [(The Sleeper)] [by: Emily Barr]
Author(s): Emily Barr
Publisher: HEADLINE REVIEW
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

November 2014 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Sleeper
Author(s): Emily Barr
ISBN: 1-4862-3942-0 / 978-1-4862-3942-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Audible audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Sleeper
Author(s): Emily Barr
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


July 2013 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Sleeper
Author(s): Emily Barr
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2013 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Sleeper
Author(s): Emily Barr
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2013 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Sleeper
Author(s): Emily Barr
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2013 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Sleeper: Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off. A dark and gripping psychological thriller.
Author(s): Emily Barr
Publisher: Review
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2013 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Sleeper: Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off. A dark and gripping psychological thriller.
Author(s): Emily Barr
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon CA