book cover of The Dover Cafe at War
Added by 65 members
 

The Dover Cafe at War

(2020)
(The first book in the Dover Cafe series)
A novel by

 
 
'Brilliantly written and researched . . . I loved it.' Rosie Goodwin

The first book in a brand-new World War II saga series. Perfect for readers of Ellie Dean and Annie Groves and for fans of the Home Fires series.

Dover, 1939

At the heart of Market Square lies Castle's Café, run by the formidable Nellie Castle and her six children.

Since the scandalous birth of her son ten years ago, Marianne, Nellie's eldest daughter, has preferred to stay in the kitchen, hidden away from the scrutiny of the town gossips. Overcome with shame, she has never revealed the identity of Donny's father - not even to her own mother.

But with World War II just around the corner, soon Marianne's past catches up with her. And suddenly the lives of the Castle family become a lot more complicated.

Will the secrets from her past destroy their future?

Don't miss the next exciting instalment in the Dover Cafe Series, The Dover Cafe on the Front Line. Available in ebook now and paperback September 2021. And the third book, The Dover Cafe Under Fire is available to pre-order now.

- - - -

Readers love The Dover Café at War:

'A
brilliant evocation of a family and community pulling together in wartime. Full of drama, laughter, and nail biting cliff hangers. A triumph!' Annie Clarke, author of The Factory Girls series

'Well-researched and
expertly written . . . Perfect for those days when all you want is a book to lose yourself in.' Fiona Ford, author of The Liberty Girls

'A
joyous read, the sort of book to read in one sitting.' Kitty Danton, author of A Wartime Christmas

'A rattling good novel that gives the reader a front seat at the Dover café during World War 2 . . . a really good start to what looks to be a
fascinating saga.' Shirley Mann, author of Lily's War

'Brilliantly researched, written with
warmth and insight, brimming with emotion and drama, and starring a cast of superbly drawn characters who are guaranteed to touch the hearts of readers everywhere.' Lancashire Post

'What
a brilliant book . . . can't wait to read the next one.' Netgalley reviewer

'This book is
such a joy to read.' Netgalley reviewer

'This was
a wonderful read. Looking forward to the next in the series.' Netgalley reviewer

Genre: Sagas

Praise for this book

"A brilliant evocation of a family and community pulling together in wartime. Full of drama, laughter, and nail biting cliff hangers. A triumph!" - Annie Clarke

"A joyous read, the sort of book to read in one sitting." - Kitty Danton

"Well-researched and expertly written . . . Perfect for those days when all you want is a book to lose yourself in." - Fiona Ford

"Brilliantly written and researched, I loved it." - Rosie Goodwin

"A rattling good novel that gives the reader a front seat at the Dover café during World War 2 . . . a really good start to what looks to be a fascinating saga." - Shirley Mann


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Ginny Bell's The Dover Cafe at War


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors