New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

This Thing of Darkness

(2015)
(The fourth book in the Fiona Griffiths series)
A novel by

 

A hanged man, a stolen painting, an impossible crime

A marine engineer is found hanged in a locked apartment. Some artwork is stolen, then mysteriously returned. A security guard is found dead at the base of a Welsh cliff. When Fiona Griffiths is tasked to look through a stackload of cold cases, her bosses don't expect her to find anything of interest. But then she finds that an impossible robbery really happened. That a nailed-on suicide was anything but. That the dead security guard was almost certainly murdered. Before long, Fiona is embroiled in what will become the toughest case of her career so far - one that forces her to enter the heart of darkness, and a journey that will test her mental toughness to its very limits. This international smash hit murder mystery series is ideal for fans of Stieg Larsson, Gillian Flynn, Tana French ... and for anyone at all who loves their crime noir and their female protagonists strong, brave and smart.

Watch out for more titles in the Fiona Griffiths mysteries series

When Fiona is called out to attend an incident in a remote country churchyard, she finds the corpse of a young woman, reverentially laid out in a howling October night. She suspects murder . . . but the truth turns out to be far worse. THE DEAD HOUSE. Coming 2016. Don't miss it!

What people are saying about the Fiona Griffiths crime thrillers series

"Exceptional . . . Absorbing . . . Fiona's narrative sears the pages." - Kirkus Reviews "The most gripping crime novel I have read, maybe ever. DON'T read The Strange Death if you have a weak heart, unless you are bent on suicide by thriller." - Peter J Earle "Gritty, compelling . . . a [police] procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year." - USA Today "With Detective Constable Fiona 'Fi' Griffiths, Harry Bingham . . . finds a sweet spot in crime fiction . . . think Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander . . . Denise Mina's 'Paddy' Meehan [or] Lee Child's Jack Reacher . . . The writing is terrific." - Boston Globe "Fiona Griffiths may be the most fascinating protagonist in fiction. She is similar to Lisbeth Salander, an intelligent but profoundly damaged young woman, but Fiona is less hostile and more curious, sort of a good guy sociopath. I couldn't put it down. This is definitely one of my very favorite thriller series. I love this character and I hope I have the chance to read many more. Harry Bingham is a genius and one hell of a writer." - Audrey, Top 500 Reviewer "A stunner with precision plotting, an unusual setting, and a deeply complex protagonist . . . We have the welcome promise of more books to come." - The Seattle Times "A dark delight, and I look forward to Fiona's future struggles with criminals, her demons and the mysteries of her past." - Washington Post "The easiest five stars I've ever awarded a book. Fiona Griffiths is by far the most original fictional detective I've come across . . . [the book] made me feel breathless with worry, concern and eventually fear for Fiona." - Loretta Milan "An even more intense plot and richer character study than his first . . . Fiona's past mental problems and her unconventional personality make her a distinctive lead." - Publishers Weekly, (starred review) "Some of the most memorably staccato narration in the genre . . . [Bingham's] remote, unquenchable heroine makes her stand apart from every one of her procedural brothers and sisters." - Kirkus Reviews "Compelling . . . a new crime talent to treasure." - Daily Mail (London)

Genre: Mystery    Get it on Google Play
 
Similar Books by other authors...


Close to the Bone
(Logan McRae, book 8)

Stuart MacBride

Rather Be the Devil
(John Rebus, book 21)

Ian Rankin

The Thirst
(Harry Hole, book 11)

Jo Nesbø

Shadows of Sounds
(Lorimer and Brightman, book 3)

Alex Gray
 
Used availability for Harry Bingham's This Thing of Darkness


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

July 2015 : UK Hardback
Title: This Thing of Darkness
Author(s): Harry Bingham
ISBN: 1-4091-5270-7 / 978-1-4091-5270-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   

Paperback Editions

April 2016 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: This Thing of Darkness: Fiona Griffiths Crime Thriller Series Book 4
Author(s): Harry Bingham
ISBN: 1-4091-5272-3 / 978-1-4091-5272-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

July 2015 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: This Thing of Darkness: Fiona Griffiths Crime Thriller Series Book 4
Author(s): Harry Bingham
ISBN: 1-4091-5271-5 / 978-1-4091-5271-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

1834 : Paperback
thumbTitle: This Thing of Darkness (Fiona Griffiths Mystery Series) (Volume 4)
Author(s): Harry Bingham
ISBN: 1-5152-9234-7 / 978-1-5152-9234-0
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

November 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: This Thing of Darkness: Fiona Griffiths, Book 4
Author(s): Harry Bingham
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group
Availability: Amazon   

November 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: This Thing of Darkness: Fiona Griffiths, Book 4
Author(s): Harry Bingham
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

July 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: This Thing of Darkness (Fiona Griffiths Crime Thriller Series Book 4)
Author(s): Harry Bingham
Publisher: Sheep Street Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

July 2015 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: This Thing of Darkness: Fiona Griffiths Crime Thriller Series Book 4 (DC Fiona Griffiths)
Author(s): Harry Bingham
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for