New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
book cover of White Space

White Space

(2014)
(The first book in the Dark Passages series)
A novel by

 
New in paperback! From Ilsa J. Bick--the critically acclaimed author of The Ashes Trilogy--comes the first title in a two-book, young adult series about blurred reality in the tradition of Memento and Inception. This thrilling and scary young adult novel is about blurred reality where characters in a story find that a deadly and horrifying world exists in the space between the written lines.

Seventeen-year-old Emma Lindsay has problems: a head full of metal, no parents, a crazy artist for a guardian whom a stroke has turned into a vegetable, and all those times when she blinks away, dropping into other lives so ghostly and surreal it's as if the story of her life bleeds into theirs. But one thing Emma has never doubted is that she's real.

Then she writes "White Space," a story about these kids stranded in a spooky house during a blizzard. Unfortunately, "White Space" turns out to be a dead ringer for part of an unfinished novel by a long-dead writer. The manuscript, which she's never seen, is a loopy Matrix meets Inkheart story in which characters fall out of different books and jump off the page. When Emma blinks, she might be doing the same and, before long, she's dropped into the very story she thought she'd written. Trapped in a weird, snow-choked valley, Emma meets other kids with dark secrets and strange abilities: Eric, Casey, Bode, Rima, and a very special little girl, Lizzie. What they discover is that they--and Emma--may be nothing more than characters written into being from an alternative universe for a very specific purpose.

Now what they must uncover is why they've been brought to this place--a world between the lines where parallel realities are created and destroyed and nightmares are written--before someone pens their end.

Praise for White Space: Book One of The Dark Passages

"One of the marks of a classic horror story is the slow and insidious shifting of the rules within the tale's universe. Bick understands the power of this trope and uses it relentlessly in this sophisticated horror novel for older teens...Bick is a master of the genre, balancing tension, terror, and tedium through repetition and fractured storytelling."--School Library Journal

Previously released in hardcover (978-1-60684-419-9) and electronic book formats (978-1-60684-420-5)

    Get it on Google Play

Similar Books by other authors...

thumb
An Ember in the Ashes
(Ember in the Ashes, book 1)
Sabaa Tahir
thumb
Carve the Mark
(Carve the Mark, book 1)
Veronica Roth
thumb
A Torch Against the Night
(Ember in the Ashes, book 2)
Sabaa Tahir


Hardback Editions

February 2014 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: White Space: Book One of The Dark Passages
Author(s): Ilsa J Bick
ISBN: 1-60684-419-9 / 978-1-60684-419-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: EgmontUSA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

February 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: White Space: Book One of The Dark Passages
Author(s): Ilsa J Bick
ISBN: 1-60684-565-9 / 978-1-60684-565-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: EgmontUSA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: White Space (Dark Passages)
Author(s): Ilsa J Bick
ISBN: 1-5012-2647-9 / 978-1-5012-2647-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2015 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: White Space (Dark Passages)
Author(s): Ilsa J Bick
ISBN: 1-5012-2648-7 / 978-1-5012-2648-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2014 : USA Audio CD

Title: White Space
Author(s): Ilsa J Bick
ISBN: 1-4915-3920-8 / 978-1-4915-3920-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2014 : USA Audio CD

Title: White Space
Author(s): Ilsa J Bick
ISBN: 1-4915-3921-6 / 978-1-4915-3921-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2014 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: White Space (Dark Passages)
Author(s): Ilsa J Bick
ISBN: 1-4915-0743-8 / 978-1-4915-0743-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2014 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: White Space (Dark Passages)
Author(s): Ilsa J Bick
ISBN: 1-4915-0790-X / 978-1-4915-0790-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2014 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: White Space (Dark Passages)
Author(s): Ilsa J Bick
ISBN: 1-4915-0837-X / 978-1-4915-0837-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: White Space: Dark Passages, Book 1
Author(s): Ilsa J Bick
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: White Space: Dark Passages, Book 1
Author(s): Ilsa J Bick
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2016 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: White Space (The Dark Passages)
Author(s): Ilsa J Bick
Publisher: Carolrhoda Lab TM
Availability: Amazon CA   



Search for