book cover of The Wild Inside

The Wild Inside

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
"The Wild Inside is an unusual love story and a creepy horror novel - think of the Bronte sisters and Stephen King." - John Irving

A promising talent makes her electrifying debut with this unforgettable novel, set in the Alaskan wilderness, that is a fusion of psychological thriller and coming-of-age tale in the vein of Jennifer McMahon, Chris Bohjalian, and Mary Kubica.

A natural born trapper and hunter raised in the Alaskan wilderness, Tracy Petrikoff spends her days tracking animals and running with her dogs in the remote forests surrounding her family's home. Though she feels safe in this untamed land, Tracy still follows her late mother's rules: Never Lose Sight of the House. Never Come Home with Dirty Hands. And, above all else, Never Make a Person Bleed.

But these precautions aren't enough to protect Tracy when a stranger attacks her in the woods and knocks her unconscious. The next day, she glimpses an eerily familiar man emerge from the tree line, gravely injured from a vicious knife wound - a wound from a hunting knife similar to the one she carries in her pocket. Was this the man who attacked her and did she almost kill him? With her memories of the events jumbled, Tracy can't be sure.

Helping her father cope with her mother's death and prepare for the approaching Iditarod, she doesn't have time to think about what she may have done. Then a mysterious wanderer appears, looking for a job. Tracy senses that Jesse Goodwin is hiding something, but she can't warn her father without explaining about the attack - or why she's kept it to herself.

It soon becomes clear that something dangerous is going on . . . the way Jesse has wormed his way into the family . . . the threatening face of the stranger in a crowd . . . the boot-prints she finds at the forest's edge.

Her family is in trouble. Will uncovering the truth protect them - or is the threat closer than Tracy suspects?

Genre: Horror

Praise for this book

"A uniquely American coming-of-age tale set on the Alaskan frontier where the borderlines between civilization and savagery...become blurred...A remarkable fable of growing up in the new world." - Joshua Gaylord

"The Wild Inside is an unusual love story and a creepy horror novel — think of the Brontë sisters and Stephen King." - John Irving

"A taut, atmospheric thriller... Jamey Bradbury has crafted a stunning debut full of secrets and hunger, grief and longing. Like the cold of an Alaskan winter, this book chilled me and wrapped me in quiet dread." - Jennifer McMahon


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jamey Bradbury's The Wild Inside

Hardback Editions

March 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Wild Inside: A Novel
Author(s): Jamey Bradbury
ISBN: 0-06-274199-3 / 978-0-06-274199-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

December 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wild Inside: A Novel
Author(s): Jamey Bradbury
ISBN: 0-06-274200-0 / 978-0-06-274200-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wild Inside: A Novel
Author(s): Jamey Bradbury
ISBN: 0-06-279152-4 / 978-0-06-279152-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

March 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Wild Inside
Author(s): Jamey Bradbury
ISBN: 1-5385-0249-6 / 978-1-5385-0249-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Wild Inside: A Novel
Author(s): Jamey Bradbury
ISBN: 1-5385-0251-8 / 978-1-5385-0251-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Wild Inside
Author(s): Jamey Bradbury
ISBN: 1-5385-0250-X / 978-1-5385-0250-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wild Inside: A Novel
Author(s): Jamey Bradbury
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wild Inside: A Novel
Author(s): Jamey Bradbury
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wild Inside: A Novel
Author(s): Jamey Bradbury
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Wild Inside: A Novel
Author(s): Jamey Bradbury
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA