book cover of Right to Kill
Added by 10 of our members

Right to Kill

(2021)
(The first book in the Joe Romano series)
A novel by

 
 

The first in a gripping new crime thriller series set in Yorkshire, for fans of Ian Rankin and Joseph Knox.

‘A striking debut’ Peter Robinson

Wortley, West Leeds.

On a Thursday night in February, DS Joe Romano finds himself back on home turf. He’s following up on the disappearance of drug-dealer Craig Shaw.

It’s the start of a case that could make or break Romano’s career. Because Shaw is about to go from missing to murdered.

While some don’t think Shaw’s killer should be brought to justice, Romano believes every life counts. But he’s running out of time.

The killer is ready to strike again. And Romano will be forced to question whether anyone has the right to kill.

‘A gritty, uncompromising thriller’ Paul Finch

‘The twisted big brother to Happy Valley’ Michael Wood

‘A modern take on the classic police procedural’ Russ Thomas

‘Breakneck pace, terrific protagonist and a kick-ass sidekick’
Neil Lancaster

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Yorkshire Noir at its most authentic. A gritty, uncompromising thriller, but written from the heart." - Paul Finch

"Breakneck pace, terrific protagonist and a kick-ass sidekick . . . The sense of place just leaps off the page." - Neil Lancaster

"An excellent, pacy story that’s full of heart . . . DS Joe Romano is a new favourite." - Chris McDonald

"A strong start to a new series . . . Joe Romano is a compelling lead." - Dominic Nolan

"Yorkshire's got a new hero in DS Romano. Fast-paced and full of heart, Right to Kill is the start of a thrilling new crime series." - Nick Quantrill

"John Barlow’s Right to Kill offers an intriguing plot and a gritty sense of place. I hope we’ll be seeing a lot more of DS Joe Romano in the future." - Peter Robinson

"Joe Romano is a modern take on the classic police procedural detective… Welcome to the mean streets of Leeds… the best and worst that Yorkshire has to offer." - Russ Thomas

"The twisted big brother to Happy Valley." - Michael Wood


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for John Barlow's Right to Kill

Hardback Editions

June 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Right to Kill: The gripping new Yorkshire crime thriller for 2021 (DS Joe Romano 1)
Author(s): John Barlow
ISBN: 0-00-840885-8 / 978-0-00-840885-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Right to Kill: The gripping new Yorkshire crime thriller for 2021 (DS Joe Romano 1)
Author(s): John Barlow
ISBN: 0-00-840889-0 / 978-0-00-840889-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Right To Kill: The gripping new Yorkshire crime thriller for 2021 (DS Joe Romano 1)
Author(s): John Barlow
ISBN: 0-00-840886-6 / 978-0-00-840886-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ Fiction GB
Availability: Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Right to Kill
Author(s): John Barlow
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon   


June 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Right to Kill
Author(s): John Barlow
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Right to Kill
Author(s): John Barlow
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2021 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Right to Kill: The gripping new Yorkshire crime thriller for 2021 (DS Joe Romano 1)
Author(s): John Barlow
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU