book cover of The Business of Blood
Added by 13 of our members

The Business of Blood

(2019)
(The first book in the In the Business of Blood series)
A novel by

 
 

A fascinating new voice in the British Mystery cannon that will transport you to the cobbled streets of Jack the Ripper’s Victorian London. Fans of Deanna Raybourn, Rhys Bowen, Andrea Penrose, and Amanda Quick will love the tangled life of England’s most intrepid sleuth as she navigates a world of secrets, lies, and dangerous men on both sides of the law, all the while hunting London’s most notorious killer…

London, 1890. Blood and death are Fiona Mahoney’s trade, and business, as they say, is booming.

Dying is the only thing people do with any regularity, and Fiona makes her indecorous living cleaning up after the corpses are carted away. Her childhood best friend, Mary, was the last known victim of Jack the Ripper. It’s been two years since Fiona scrubbed Mary’s blood from the floorboards, and London is no longer buzzing about the Ripper, but Fiona hasn’t forgotten.

And she hasn’t stopped searching for Jack.

When she’s called to a murder in the middle of the night, Fiona finds a victim mutilated in an eerily similar fashion to those of the Ripper, and only a few doors down from Mary’s old home. The relentless, overbearing, and irritatingly handsome Inspector Grayson Croft warns her away from the case. She might have listened, if she hadn’t found a clue in the blood. A clue that will lead her down a path from which there is no return.As a killer cuts a devastating swath through London, a letter written in blood arrives at her door, and it is only then that Fiona realizes just how perilous her endeavor is. For she has drawn the attention of an obsessive evil, and is no longer the hunter, but the prey. Fiona Mahoney is in the business of blood.

But she’s not the only one...

With intriguing twists, blood-chilling discoveries, and dazzling prose, USA Today Bestselling author Kerrigan Byrne proves a woman’s work is never done, even when she is sleuthing out a serial killer. 

"Heart-pounding mystery awaits... BoB has a Ripper Street, Penny Dreadful, Frankenstein Chronicles vibe."  — Whiskey & Wit Book Reviews

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Kerrigan Byrne's The Business of Blood

Hardback Editions

November 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Business of Blood (1) (A Fiona Mahoney Mystery)
Author(s): Kerrigan Byrne
ISBN: 1-947204-98-X / 978-1-947204-98-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Oliver-Heber Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Business of Blood
Author(s): Kerrigan Byrne
ISBN: 1-70698-695-5 / 978-1-70698-695-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Business of Blood (1) (A Fiona Mahoney Mystery)
Author(s): Kerrigan Byrne
ISBN: 1-64839-002-1 / 978-1-64839-002-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Oliver-Heber Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Business of Blood (1) (A Fiona Mahoney Mystery)
Author(s): Kerrigan Byrne
ISBN: 1-947204-99-8 / 978-1-947204-99-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Oliver-Heber Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Business of Blood
Author(s): Kerrigan Byrne
ISBN: 1-70031-028-3 / 978-1-70031-028-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Business of Blood
Author(s): Kerrigan Byrne
Publisher: Tantor and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


March 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Business of Blood
Author(s): Kerrigan Byrne
Publisher: Tantor and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


May 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Business of Blood Lib/E
Author(s): Kerrigan Byrne
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


May 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Business of Blood: Fiona Mahoney Mystery, Book 1
Author(s): Kerrigan Byrne
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Business of Blood: Fiona Mahoney Mystery, Book 1
Author(s): Kerrigan Byrne
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Business of Blood: Fiona Mahoney Mystery, Book 1
Author(s): Kerrigan Byrne
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Business of Blood: Fiona Mahoney Mystery, Book 1
Author(s): Kerrigan Byrne
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Business of Blood (A Fiona Mahoney Mystery Book 1)
Author(s): Kerrigan Byrne
Publisher: Oliver Heber Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU