book cover of Small Bones
Added by 6 of our members
 

Small Bones

(2021)
(The second book in the Detectives Harvey & Birch Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
AN ABSOLUTELY JAW-DROPPING CRIME THRILLER FEATURING DETECTIVES ASHA HARVEY & AARON BIRCH

If you can’t trust your father and you can’t trust the police, who can you trust?


Sue Hearn is planting a herb garden on the site of her grandfather’s old greenhouse. She’s spent the morning digging up all sorts of odds and ends already. But she doesn’t expect this grisly find.

A skull.

Could it be the remains of her mother, Monica, who went missing thirty years ago?

Sue’s father, in hospital with dementia, insinuates that a police officer was involved in her mother’s disappearance. But can he be trusted?

So now Detectives Asha Harvey and Aaron Birch might be looking for a bent copper.

As they dig deeper into the past, Sue and Asha find secrets so dangerous it will put all their lives in danger.

Fans of BBC’s Line of Duty, Lynda La Plante, Tana French, Patricia Gibney, Brian McGilloway and Helen H. Durrant will devour this electrifying crime thriller by one of Northern Ireland’s newest talents.

MEET THE DETECTIVES
DETECTIVE ASHA HARVEY
Asha Harvey has always had a powerful sense of right and wrong. She has wanted to be a detective since she was a child, and while she can be a little too trusting, her open manner makes people want to confide in her. She is especially driven to succeed as a woman of colour in a largely white, male police force in Northern Ireland. Her family support her and are ridiculously proud of her, which adds to her internal pressure to succeed.

DETECTIVE AARON BIRCH
Boyish and gangly, Aaron Birch entered the police force as a detective through a graduate recruitment scheme. This makes him the butt of snide remarks by fellow officers, so he always feels he has something to prove. He also has a tendency to stretch the rules to suit himself, which can lead to him getting into trouble.

THE SETTING
A city of contrasts, Belfast is filled with beautiful old relics dating back to a golden age of shipbuilding and wealth, as well as the scars of more recent wounds. The city has an exciting sense of newness and potential, but it can’t quite shed those who lurk in the darker shadows born of its turbulent past.

WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT SMALL BONES:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “This is the second outing for Detectives Harvey and Birch and is even better than the first one . . . This book had me gripped from the beginning and I am already hoping there is another book to come in the series.” Barbara

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Wow after enjoying book one I was eager to get into this book and the author never let me down. Love these characters and I hope we get many more in the series to come. This book is full of twists and turns all the way.” Booklover Bev

⭐⭐⭐⭐ “This book was a very fast-paced and easy to read, I read it in one setting . . . The narrative was good, the characters were well-written and likeable . . . I found it hard to put this down and even read whilst I was eating. It had a suspenseful and mysterious build up that kept me on my toes.” Kirsty

“The plot keeps you on your toes and there is never a dull moment throughout the book . . . The cliffhanger left me wanting more.” Meg

DETECTIVES HARVEY & BIRCH MYSTERIES
Book 1: KNIFE EDGE
Book 2: SMALL BONES

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Kerry Buchanan's Small Bones

Paperback Editions

June 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: SMALL BONES an utterly addictive crime thriller full of twists: 2 (Detectives Harvey & Birch Murder Mystery)
Author(s): KERRY BUCHANAN
ISBN: 1-78931-843-2 / 978-1-78931-843-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Joffe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

June 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: SMALL BONES an utterly addictive crime thriller full of twists (Detectives Harvey & Birch Murder Mystery Book 2)
Author(s): KERRY BUCHANAN
Publisher: Joffe Books crime thriller and mystery
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU