book cover of The Agatha Raisin Series Books 1-3
Added by 1 of our members

The Agatha Raisin Series Books 1-3

(A book in the Agatha Raisin Mysteries series)
An omnibus of novels by

From the author of the Agatha Raisin television series...
Discover M.C. Beaton's New York Times bestselling Hamish Macbeth mystery series with this thrilling collection of the first three novels featuring the Scottish Highlands' cleverest but most unambitious policeman:

When society widow and gossip columnist Lady Jane Winters joined the fishing class, she wasted no time in ruffling the feathers--or was it the fins?--of those around her. Among the victims of her sharp tongue and unladylike manner was Lochdubh Constable Hamish Macbeth. Yet not even Hamish thought someone would permanently silence Lady Jane's shrills--until her strangled body is fished out of the river. Now with the help of the lovely Priscilla Halburton-Smythe, Hamish must angle through the choppy waters of the tattler's life to find the murderer. But with a school of suspects who aren't ready to talk and dead women telling no tales, Hamish may be in over his head, for he knows that secrets are dangerous, knowledge is power, and killers usually do strike again.

When Priscilla Halburton-Smythe brings her London playwright fiance home to Lochdubh, everybody in town is delighted . . . except for love-smitten Constable Hamish Macbeth. Yet his affairs of the heart will have to wait. Vile, boorish Captain Bartlett, one of the guests at Priscilla's engagement party, has just been found murdered-shot while on a grouse hunt. Now with many titled party guests as the prime suspects, each with a reason for snuffing out the despicable captain, Hamish must smooth ruffled feathers as he investigates the case. When the hidden culprit strikes again, Hamish will find himself trying to save Priscilla from a miserable marriage--and catch a killer before he flies the coop.

The most hated man in the most dour town in Scotland is sleeping with the fishes, or--more accurately--dumped into a tank filled with crustaceans. All that remain of the murdered victim are his bones. But after the lobsters are shipped off to Britain's best restaurants, the whole affair quickly lands on the plate of Constable Hamish Macbeth. Exiled with his dog, Towser, to the dreary outpost of Cnothan, Macbeth sorely misses his beloved Lochdubh, his formerly beloved Priscilla Halburton-Smythe, and his days of doing nothing but staring at the sheep grazing in a nearby croft. Now the lawman has to contend with a detective chief inspector who wants the modus operandi hushed up, a dark-haired lass who has an ulterior motive to seduce him, and a killer who has made mincemeat of his victim-and without doubt will strike again . . .

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Used availability for M C Beaton's The Agatha Raisin Series Books 1-3

Kindle Editions

October 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition

Title: Introducing Hamish Macbeth: Mysteries #1-3: Death of a Gossip, Death of a Cad, and Death of an Outsider Omnibus (A Hamish Macbeth Mystery)
Author(s): M C Beaton
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

August 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition

Title: The Agatha Raisin Series, Books 1-3: The Quiche of Death, The Vicious Vet, and The Potted Gardener (Agatha Raisin Mysteries)
Author(s): M C Beaton
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA