New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The English Paragon

The English Paragon

(1900)
A novel by

 
 
Some princes are not destined to become kings...

Prince Edward has been written into English history and folklore just the same. With his jet-black armour and nickname of the Black Prince, he emerges in the history books as a fierce warrior dogged by sickness and a destined kingship that fate would deny him.

The present novel is not a biography or study of this famous Prince of Wales, but an impressionistic relation of the fatal Spanish campaign of 1366 and the subsequent revolt of Aquitaine in 1370, considered from many points of view.

With her trademark imagination, Bowen's novel about his life is a gripping read, dark in parts, with a stunning grip on the horrors of Medieval life. A fabulous read for fans of Hilary Mantel and Robert Harris, that will leave you wanting more.

Praise for Marjorie Bowen



'A book remarkable alike for its vividness and for its historical perspective' - Daily Express

'... one of the most novel features of Miss Bowen's book is the care she takes to see the point of view of Mary's lovers. She makes a plausible case for Bothwell and even joins the very select band of those who have something good to say for Darnley' - Times Literary Supplement

'Fresh, vivid, exciting and enthralling ... This is a fine book' - The Sphere

'A book in every way worthwhile ... as an individual contribution to the subject, Miss Bowen's work is of the exceptional class' - The Scotman

'Miss Bowen's work is of the exceptional class' - The Scotsman

Marjorie Bowen
was born in 1885 on Hayling Island in Hampshire. She and her sister grew up in poverty, but Bowen was eventually able to study at the Slade School of Fine Art and later in Paris. Her first novel, the violent historical The Viper of Milan (written when she was 16) was rejected by several publishers, who considered it inappropriate for a young woman to have written such a novel. It went on to become a best-seller when eventually published.

Her total output numbers over 150 volumes with the bulk of her work under the 'Bowen' pseudonym. She also wrote under the names Joseph Shearing, George R. Preedy, John Winch, Robert Paye and Margaret Campbell. Bowen died on 22 December 1952, after suffering serious concussion as a result of a fall in her bedroom. This book was previously published under the name George R. Preedy.

    

Used availability for Marjorie Bowen's The English Paragon

Kindle Editions

December 2017 : USA, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The English Paragon
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
Publisher: Endeavour Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK