New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Marjorie Bowen's picture

Marjorie Bowen

(Gabrielle Margaret Vere Long)
UK flag (1885 - 1952)

aka Margaret Campbell, Robert Paye, George Preedy, Joseph Shearing

Marjorie Bowen (pseudonym of Mrs Gabrielle Margaret V[ere] Long née Campbell), was a British author who wrote historical romances, supernatural horror stories, popular history and biography. Her total output numbers over 150 volumes with the bulk of her work under the 'Bowen' pseudonym. She also wrote under the names Joseph Shearing, George R. Preedy, John Winch, Robert Paye, and Margaret Campbell. As Joseph Shearing, she wrote several sinister gothic romances full of terror and mystery. Many of these stories were published as Berkley Medallion Books. Several of her books were adapted as films. Her books are much sought after by aficionados of gothic horror and received praise from critics.

Bowen's alcoholic father left the family at an early age and was eventually found dead on a London street. After this, Bowen's prolific writings were the chief financial support for her family. She was married twice: first, from 1912-16, to a Sicilian named Zefferino Emilio Constanza, who died of tuberculosis, and then to one Arthur L. Long. Her first novel was The Viper of Milan (1906), after which she produced a steady stream of writings until the day of her death on 23rd December 1952. Her last, posthumous, novel was The Man with the Scales (1954).
The Countess Fanny (1856)
The English Paragon (1900)
The Soldier from Virginia (1900)
The Viper of Milan (1906)
The Glen O'Weeping (1907)
The Master of Stair (1907)
A Moment's Madness (1908)
The Sword Decides (1908)
Black Magic (1909)
The Leopard And The Lily (1909)
I Will Maintain (1910)
God and the King (1911)
God's Playthings (1912)
The Quest of Glory (1912)
The Rake's Progress (1912)
The Two Carnations (1913)
The Governor of England (1913)
A Knight of Spain (1913)
Prince and Heretic (1914)
Because Of These Things (1915)
The Carnival of Florence (1915)
Mr. Washington (1915)
The Third Estate (1917)
William, by the Grace of God (1917)
The Burning Glass (1918)
Kings-at-Arms (1918)
Crimes of Old London (1919)
Mr. Misfortunate (1919)
The Cheats (1920)
Roccoco (1921)
Stinging Nettles (1923)
The Presence and the Power (1924)
Five People (1925)
The Haunted Vintage (1925)
Boundless Waters (1926)
Mistress Nell Gwyn (1926)
Nell Gwyn (1926)
The Pagoda (1927)
Exits and Farewells (1928)
General Crack (1928)
The Golden Roof (1928)
The Story of the Temple (1928)
The Winged Trees (1928)
Dickon (1929)
Mademoiselle Maria Gloria (1929)
Brave Employments (1931)
Tumult in the North (1931)
Withering Fires (1931)
Dark Rosaleen (1932)
Passion Flower (1932)
The Pavilion of Honour (1932)
The Shadow on Mockways (1932)
Violante (1932)
Double Dallilay (1933)
I Dwelt in High Places (1933)
Julia Roseingrave (1933) (as by Robert Paye)
The Stolen Bride (1933)
The Veil'd Delight (1933)
Mary, Queen of Scots (1934)
The Scandal of Sophie Dawes (1934)
The Spider in the Cup (1934)
The Triumphant Beast (1934)
The Angel of the Assassination (1935)
Laurell'd Captains (1935)
Moss Rose (1935)
Patriotic Lady (1935)
Trumpets at Rome (1936)
Royal Pageantry (1937)
Wrestling Jacob (1937)
A Giant in Chains (1938)
God and the Wedding Dress (1938)
The Trumpet and The Swan (1938)
Blanche Fury, or, Fury's ape (1939)
The Circle in the Water (1939)
Exhange Royal (1940)
Laura Sarelle (1940)
Strangers to Freedom (1940)
Today Is Mine (1941)
The Courtly Charlatan (1942)
Nightcap and Plume (1945)
Mignonette (1948)
A Stranger Knocked (1948)
To Bed At Noon (1951)
In the Steps of Mary, Queen of Scots (1952)
The Queen's Caprice (1953)
The Man with the Scales (1954)
Forget-me-not (1970)
Eugenie (1972)
Night's Dark Secret (1975) (as by Margaret Campbell)
Pale Rose (1977)

Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Marjorie Bowen
Short stories
The Avenging of Ann Leete
The Crown Derby Plate
The Folding Doors
A Quiet Holiday
Florence Flannery (1949)
Kecksies [short story] (1949)
The Prescription (1950)

Search for