New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

The Governor of England

(1913)
A Novel on Oliver Cromwell
A novel by

 
Oliver Cromwell was first and foremost an English soldier.

But he was also a statesman of outstanding gifts and a forceful character, becoming Lord Protector of the Republican Commonwealth of England, Scotland, and Ireland from 1653 to 1658.

One of the leading generals on the parliamentary side in the English Civil War against King Charles I, he was indispensable in the campaign to the overthrow of the Stuart monarchy.

In his position as Lord Protector, he raised his country's status back to being one of leading European power, something it had not experienced since the death of Queen Elizabeth I.

Cromwell was one of the most remarkable rulers in European history; he believed deeply in the value of religious toleration.

At the same time his victories at home and abroad helped to enlarge and sustain a Puritan attitude of mind, both in Great Britain and in North America which has continued to influence political and social life right up until the present day.

In this historical novel the whole story of Cromwell's dealings with Parliament and the King is played out before you in thrilling excitement and vivid action.

'The Governor of England' is a thrilling historical saga that is perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.

'Takes you right to the heart of one the greatest stories in English history'. - Robert Foster, best-selling author of 'The Lunar Code'.

Born in 1885, Marjorie Bowen (pseudonym of Margaret Gabrielle Vere Campbell Long) was one of Britain's most prolific authors of the twentieth century. Writing was more than just a hobby: her works were the primary source of financial support for her family. Between 1906 and her death in 1952, Bowen wrote over 150 books, garnering much acclaim for her popular histories and historical and gothic romances. Alongside masterful descriptions and concise, efficient prose, she deftly rendered larger-than-life subjects in the minds of her readers. To this day, aficionados of the genres covet Bowen's work.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher. For more information on our titles please sign up to our newsletter at www.endeavourpress.com. Each week you will receive updates on free and discounted ebooks. Follow us on Twitter: @EndeavourPress and on Facebook via http://on.fb.me/1HweQV7. We are always interested in hearing from our readers. Endeavour Press believes that the future is now.

 
Used availability for Marjorie Bowen's The Governor of England


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

December 2015 : Hardback
Title: The Governor of England
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
ISBN: 1-347-79439-5 / 978-1-347-79439-5
Publisher: Palala Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 2015 : USA Hardback
Title: The Governor of England
Author(s): Bowen Marjorie 1888-1952
ISBN: 1-296-63294-6 / 978-1-296-63294-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Andesite Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

September 2010 : USA Hardback
Title: The Governor of England (1914)
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
ISBN: 1-167-12562-2 / 978-1-167-12562-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kessinger Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

December 2009 : USA Hardback
Title: The Governor of England (1914)
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
ISBN: 1-120-85971-9 / 978-1-120-85971-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kessinger Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

October 2016 : UK Paperback
Title: The Governor of England (Classic Reprint)
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
ISBN: 1-333-84517-0 / 978-1-333-84517-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Forgotten Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

April 2016 : Paperback
Title: The Governor of England
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
ISBN: 1-5327-9916-0 / 978-1-5327-9916-7
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

November 2015 : Paperback
Title: The Governor of England
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
ISBN: 1-5191-3524-6 / 978-1-5191-3524-7
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

February 2014 : USA Paperback
Title: The Governor of England
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
ISBN: 1-294-70263-7 / 978-1-294-70263-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Nabu Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

December 2013 : USA Paperback
Title: The Governor of England
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
ISBN: 1-4947-1909-6 / 978-1-4947-1909-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   

September 2013 : USA Paperback
Title: The Governor of England
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
ISBN: 1-230-38837-0 / 978-1-230-38837-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Theclassics.Us
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

March 2012 : USA Paperback
Title: The Governor Of England...
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
ISBN: 1-278-21694-4 / 978-1-278-21694-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Nabu Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2012 : USA Paperback
Title: The Governor of England
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
ISBN: 1-150-62584-8 / 978-1-150-62584-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: General Books LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   

December 2009 : USA Paperback
Title: The Governor Of England (1914)
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
ISBN: 1-120-76061-5 / 978-1-120-76061-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kessinger Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

June 1999 : Canada Paperback
Title: The governor of England: A novel on Oliver Cromwell
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
ISBN: 0-921100-58-2 / 978-0-921100-58-4 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Inheritance Publications
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

May 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: The Governor of England
Author(s): Marjorie Bowen
Publisher: Endeavour Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for