New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Cumbrian Trilogy

The Cumbrian Trilogy

(A book in the Cumbrian Trilogy series)
An omnibus of novels by

Melvyn Bragg's celebrated trilogy - THE HIRED MAN, A PLACE IN ENGLAND and KINGDOM COME - traces four generations of Tallentire history: from John in the rural Cumbria of 1898 to Douglas in the competitive and backbiting metropolis of the Seventies. From 'hired man' to media man worlds have been bridged, but the old ideals of success, freedom and happiness seem ever elusive as each Tallentire must come to terms with private uncertainty and pain. 'An uncommonly high talent. The people are "real" enough to leave footprints right across the page' Guardian


Used availability for Melvyn Bragg's The Cumbrian Trilogy

Paperback Editions

January 1990 : UK Paperback

Title: The Cumbrian Trilogy
Author(s): Melvyn Bragg
ISBN: 0-340-40486-8 / 978-0-340-40486-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sceptre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

August 1984 : UK Paperback

Title: Cumbrian Trilogy (Coronet Books)
Author(s): Melvyn Bragg
ISBN: 0-340-36150-6 / 978-0-340-36150-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sceptre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA