Melvyn Bragg's picture

Melvyn Bragg

UK flag (b.1939)

Melvyn Bragg's first novel, For Want of a Nail, was published in 1965 and since then his novels have included The Hired Man, for which he won the Time/Life Silver Pen Award, Without a City Wall, winner of the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, Credo, The Maid of Buttermere and The Soldier's Return, which was published to huge critical acclaim in 1999 and won the WHSmith Literary Award. He has also written several works of non-fiction including Speak for England, an oral history of the twentieth century, Rich, a biography of Richard Burton, On Giants' Shoulders, and most recently, The Adventure of English, based on the Granada TV series. He is controller of Arts at LWT and President of the National Campaign for the Arts, and in 1998 he was made a life peer. He lives in London and Cumbria.

Genres: Historical
Cumbrian Trilogy
   1. The Hired Man (1969)
   2. A Place in England (1970)
   3. Kingdom Come (1980)
Soldier's Return
   1. The Soldier's Return (1999)
   2. A Son of War (2001)
   3. Crossing the Lines (2003)
   For Want of a Nail (1965)
   The Second Inheritance (1966)
   Without a City Wall (1970)
   The Nerve (1971)
   Josh Lawton (1972)
   Silken Net (1974)
   A Christmas Child (1976)
   Autumn Manoeuvres (1978)
   Love and Glory (1983)
   The Maid of Buttermere (1987)
   A Time to Dance (1990)
   Crystal Rooms (1992)
   Credo (1996)
     aka The Sword and the Miracle
   Remember Me... (2008)
   Grace and Mary (2013)
   Now is the Time (2015)
   Love Without End (2019)
Non fiction show
Melvyn Bragg recommends
The Late Train to Gipsy Hill (2021)
(Louise Mangan, book 1)
Alan Johnson
"Fascinating and ingenious."
Gone are the Leaves (2014)
Anne Donovan
"Anne Donovan is outstanding."
The Whispering Gallery (2011)
(Snow Hill Station trilogy, book 2)
Mark Sanderson
"Snow Hill is a dashing and compelling addition to the distinguished file of the London crime and punishment novel."

More recommendations 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors