New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

Everything is Nice

A collection of stories by

"Start reading 'Everything Is Nice,' and, instantly, Reader, you will be someplace else, an odd atmosphere, an altered frame of mind," writes Lynne Tillman in her introduction to this issue of Electric Literature's Recommended Reading. "Jane Bowles' writing dispatches you, Reader, to a place of otherness. You may sense being an other to yourself. Once inside one of her tales, there is no outside."

About the Author:
Jane Bowles has long had an underground reputation as one of the truly original writers of this century. Born in New York City in 1917, she lived in Tangier, Morocco, with her husband, Paul Bowles, from 1952 until her death in 1973.

About the Guest Editor:
Lynne Tillman's most recent book is a collection of stories, Someday This Will Be Funny. In January 2014 a new collection of essays, What Would Lynne Tillman Do? will be published by Richard Nash's Red Lemonade Press. She is currently writing a novel, along with, but slower than, everyone else.

About Recommended Reading:
Great authors inspire us. But what about the stories that inspire them? Recommended Reading, the latest project from Electric Literature, publishes one story every week, each chosen by a great author or editor. In this age of distraction, we uncover writing that's worth slowing down and spending some time with. And in doing so, we help give great writers, literary magazines, and independent presses the recognition (and readership) they deserve.

Similar Books by other authors...

A Little Original Sin
Millicent Dillon

Death in Holy Orders
(Inspector Adam Dalgliesh, book 11)

P D James

The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman
Laurence Sterne

The Way by Swann's
(Remembrance of Things Past, book 1)

Marcel Proust
Used availability for Paul Bowles's Everything is Nice

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

December 2012 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: Everything is Nice: Collected Stories, Fragments and Plays
Author(s): Jane Bowles
ISBN: 1-908745-15-0 / 978-1-908745-15-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sort of Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 1989 : UK Paperback
Title: Everything Is Nice:Coll Stories (VMC)
Author(s): Jane Bowles
ISBN: 1-85381-052-5 / 978-1-85381-052-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Virago
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

August 2013 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Everything is Nice (Electric Literature's Recommended Reading Book 66)
Author(s): Jane Bowles
Publisher: Electric Literature
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

December 2012 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Everything is Nice: Jane Bowles: Collected Stories, Sketches and Plays
Author(s): Jane Bowles
Publisher: Sort Of
Availability: Amazon UK   

Search for