Paul Bowles's picture
1 follower

Paul Bowles

USA flag (1910 - 1999)

Paul Bowles grew up in New York, and attended college at the University of Virginia before traveling to Paris, where became a part of Gertrude Stein's literary and artistic circle. Following her advice, he took his first trip to Tangiers in 1931 with his friend, composer Aaron Copeland.

In 1938 he married author and playwright Jane Auer (see: Jane Bowles). He moved to Tangiers permanently in 1947, with Auer following him there in 1948. There they became fixtures of the American and European expatriate scene, their visitors including Truman Capote, Tennessee Williams and Gore Vidal. Bowles continued to live in Tangiers after the death of his wife in 1973.

Bowles died of heart failure in Tangier on November 18, 1999. His ashes were interred near the graves of his parents and grandparents in Lakemont, New York.
   The Sheltering Sky (1949)
   Let It Come Down (1952)
   The Spider's House (1955)
   Up Above the World (1966)
   Two Poems (poems) (1933)
   The Delicate Prey (1950)
   A Little Stone (1950)
   The Hours After Noon (1959)
   A Hundred Camels in the Courtyard (1962)
   The Time of Friendship (1967)
   Pages from Cold Point (1968)
   Scenes (poems) (1968)
   The Thicket of Spring (poems) (1972)
   Three Tales (1975)
   Things Gone and Things Still Here (1977)
   Collected Stories (1978)
   Next to Nothing (poems) (1981)
   Points in Time (1982)
   Unwelcome Words (1988)
   Too Far from Home (1993)
   The Review of Contemporary Fiction: 20 (2000) (with John Hawkes, Jean Rhys and Marguerite Young)
   A Distant Episode (2006)
   The Stories of Paul Bowles (2006)
   Call at Corazon (2007)
   Everything is Nice (2012) (with Jane Bowles)
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbno image available
Non fiction
   Yallah (1957)
   Their Heads are Green (1963)
   Without Stopping (1972)
   Paul Bowles on Music (2003)
   Days (2006)
   Travels (2010)
Anthologies containing stories by Paul Bowles
Short stories
The Circular Valley (1950)
Allal (1993)

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors