New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

The Woman Who Was Changed

The Woman Who Was Changed

And Other Stories
A collection of stories by

Here is a richly satisfying new collection by the master storyteller Pearl S. Buck. The novella and short stories are all appearing in book form for the first time and, with two exceptions, none has been published before. The theme that draws them together is their concern with the outsider who is not comfortable in the role that society has fashioned for her and who therefore must define her own place in the world. 'John-John Chinaman' is the story of a first generation American of Chinese descent, long-alienated by the relentless cruelties of racial prejudice, who rediscovers ties to his homeland. In 'The Castle', the titled heir to an estate sees himself as an anachronism in post-war England until a young woman affirms a place for tradition in a brave, new World. The strong-willed eldest of 'The Three Daughters' renounces marriage and forges her own unorthodox 'family'. A doctor must determine his own moral and compassionate course in 'If It Must Be So', when a patient in desperate straits requests an illegal abortion. In 'Pleasant Evening, a nuclear physicist rebels when her fiancé demands that she gives up her vocation for the health of their unborn children. And in the title story, a woman leaves the comfort and security of marriage to her childhood sweetheart who provides her with all that a woman could want, except the freedom to be herself. Written over several decades, these stories about ageless human dilemmas are composed with the honesty, insight and compassion that have made Pearl Buck one of the world's best-known and loved authors.

Used availability for Pearl S Buck's The Woman Who Was Changed

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Hardback Editions

December 1988 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: Woman Who Was Changed and Other Stor
Author(s): Pearl S Buck
ISBN: 0-8488-0436-8 / 978-0-8488-0436-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Amereon Limited
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

March 1980 : UK Hardback
Title: Woman Who Was Changed and Other Stories
Author(s): Pearl S Buck
ISBN: 0-413-46800-3 / 978-0-413-46800-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Methuen Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

February 1979 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: Woman Who Was Changed and Other Stories
Author(s): Pearl S Buck
ISBN: 0-690-01789-8 / 978-0-690-01789-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ty Crowell Co
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for