New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Flight-Lieutenant Middleton was veteran of the Royal Air Force.

But in Italy in 1944 he is about to face the stiffest test of a long and brutal war.

The rocket--armed Beaufighters are using their Italian bases to launch ferocious attacks against German shipping and ports in the islands of the Jugoslav archipelago.

The Germans are determined to send reinforcements and supplies to their armies in Italy. The RAF are just as determined to sink them.

The fighting has reached desperate intensity.

And Middleton and has small band of airmen are engaged in a desperate battle for survival - and victory at any cost.

Hurtling low over the water with little chance of survival if hit, the airmen face heavy fire from German shore batteries, flak ships and E-boats.

But even the bitterest warfare is not all hatred and carnage.

The conflict of characters; the dashing schemes of ambitious but sometimes incompetent commanders on both sides; the distractions caused by the availability of sultry, passionate women ashore and on the islands; the impetuosity of love--starved fighting men; the bungling of over-eager partisans: all these create a vivid story rich in drama and black comedy.

'My Enemy Came Nigh' is a full-throttle WWII adventures story, rich in authentic period detail.

It is perfect for fans of Alistair MacLean and Jack Higgins.

'A thrilling page turner.' - Tom Kasey, best-selling author of 'Trade Off'.

Richard Townsend Bickers volunteered for the RAF on the outbreak of the second world war and served, with a Permanent Commission, for eighteen years. He wrote a range of military fiction and non-fiction books, including a biography of his friend "Ginger" Lacey, the top-scoring pilot in the Battle of Britain.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

 
Used availability for Richard Townshend Bickers's My Enemy Came Nigh


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

May 1978 : UK Hardback
Title: My Enemy Came Nigh
Author(s): Richard Townshend Bickers
ISBN: 0-7091-6639-7 / 978-0-7091-6639-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Robert Hale Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

October 1979 : UK Paperback
Title: My Enemy Came Nigh
Author(s): Richard Townshend Bickers
ISBN: 0-450-04380-0 / 978-0-450-04380-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: New English Library
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

June 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: My Enemy Came Nigh
Author(s): Richard Townshend Bickers
Publisher: Endeavour Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for