New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
The year is 1939.

Britain is a war with an enemy as deadly as she has ever faced.

Flying Officer Alden is desperate to have a crack at the Nazis.

But five years earlier, he had been invalided out of the service after a crash.

Now, desperately short of qualified pilots, the RAF needs him back.

He is posted to a Beaufort squadron at the outbreak of war.

Torpedo bomber units flying Bristol Beauforts, they are tasked with attacking enemy ships.

Shrouded in secrecy, it is the most dangerous unit in the RAF, with only one in five men surviving their first tour of duty, and three in a hundred living through a second.

Alden knows the odds are stacked against him.

Without the flying experience and seniority to match his contemporaries from the RAF College, he is desperate to catch up with them and restore his career -- even it means taking risks.

As he takes command of the 'Torpedo Attack' he must overcome his handicaps and restore his pride -- or die trying.

'Torpedo Attack' is a brilliantly authentic World War Two adventure story. It is an accurate portrayal of a vividly exciting, dauntingly dangerous and technically demanding type of aerial warfare that has received little attention since.

It is perfect for fans of Alistair MacLean and Jack Higgins.

'A thrilling page turner.' - Tom Kasey, best-selling author of 'Trade Off'.

Richard Townshend Bickers volunteered for the RAF on the outbreak of the second world war and served, with a Permanent Commission, for eighteen years. He wrote a range of military fiction and non-fiction books, including a biography of his friend "Ginger" Lacey, the top-scoring pilot in the Battle of Britain.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

 
Used availability for Richard Townshend Bickers's Torpedo Attack


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

March 1987 : UK Hardback
Title: Torpedo Attack
Author(s): Richard Townshend Bickers
ISBN: 0-7090-2747-8 / 978-0-7090-2747-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Robert Hale Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

October 2013 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Torpedo Attack
Author(s): Richard Townshend Bickers
Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for