New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Kill the Stuart

Kill the Stuart

(A book in the Margery series)
A novel by

When Bonnie Prince Charlie roused the Highlands in revolt in 1745, an ill-prepared English army marched north.

Major Thomas Margery, of His Majesty's 2nd Regiment of foot guards, is sent to Scotland with secret orders to kill the Young Pretender.

Facing danger from Government troops and spies as well as suspicious clansmen who support the Pretender, Margery masquerades as a deserter and, to further his disguise, he agrees to take on his Scottish contacts daughter-in-law and her son.

Isobel MacDonald, the beautiful and mysterious wife of a Highlander who is fighting for the Pretender Margery intends to kill, becomes his reliable companion as he travels through the highlands.

Keen to kill the Pretender while his army is in its infancy, Margery sets off across Scotland with Isobel. Their travels across the highlands takes them over many miles.

With a child and woman to 'support', Margery is forced to take breaks overnight wherever they can find shelter ... often forced to share a bed with Isobel ...

A confrontation with clansmen puts Margery's plans on hold. Unable to attempt the killing, Margery settles on making the most of his situation and gets to know life in the remotest parts of Scotland ...

Kill the Stuart is the fourth in the Margery family series following Witch-finder General, Amorous Trooper and Rebecca's Brat.

Praise for Ronald Bassett:

'vividly described ... the voyage as seen through the sleep-robbed eyes of matelots and officers alike' - Daily Telegraph

'A catalogue of horror' Eastern Daily Press

'There is a degree of authenticity that makes the blood run cold' Cambridge News

'Rape, murder and violence packed into fast, vigorous action' Sheffield Morning Telegraph

'Graphic tale of slave and convict ships... not for tender stomachs' Books and Bookmen

Ronald Bassett (April 1924 - March 1996) was a prolific British writer of historical fiction, sometimes writing under the pseudonym, William Clive. His other titles include Amorous Trooper, Blood of an Englishman and Pierhead Jump.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher. For more information on our titles please sign up to our newsletter at Each week you will receive updates on free and discounted ebooks. Follow us on Twitter: @EndeavourPress and on Facebook via We are always interested in hearing from our readers. Endeavour Press believes that the future is now.


Similar books by other authors

Defiant Unto Death
(Master of War, book 2)
David Gilman
The China Station
(Earl's Other Son, book 1)
Andrew Wareham

Used availability for Ronald Bassett's Kill the Stuart

Hardback Editions

April 1970 : UK Hardback

Title: Kill the Stuart (The Margery series/Ronald Bassett)
Author(s): Ronald Bassett
ISBN: 0-257-65153-5 / 978-0-257-65153-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Barrie & Jenkins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

February 2016 : Paperback

Title: Kill the Stuart
Author(s): Ronald Bassett
ISBN: 1-5236-4325-0 / 978-1-5236-4325-7
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

August 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Kill the Stuart
Author(s): Ronald Bassett
Publisher: Endeavour Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA