book cover of Recent Studies Indicate

Recent Studies Indicate

(2019)
A collection of stories by

 
 
When Sarah Bird arrived in Austin in 1973 in pursuit of a boyfriend who was "hotter than lava," she found an abundance of inspiration for storytelling (her sweetheart left her for Scientology, but she got to taste a morsel of Lynda Bird Johnson's poorly preserved wedding cake as a temp worker at the LBJ Library). Sarah Bird went on to write ten acclaimed novels and contribute hundreds of articles to publications coast to coast, developing a signature voice that combines laser-sharp insight with irreverent, wickedly funny prose in the tradition of Molly Ivins and Nora Ephron

Now collecting forty of Bird's best nonfiction pieces, from publications that range from Texas Monthly to the New York Times and others, Recent Studies Indicate presents some of Bird's earliest work, including a prescient 1976 profile of a transgender woman, along with recent calls to political action, such as her 2017 speech at a benefit for Annie's List.

Whether Bird is hanging out with socialites and sanitation workers or paying homage to her army-nurse mom, her collection brings a poignant perspective to the experience of being a woman, a feminist, a mother, and a Texan - and a writer with countless, spectacular true tales to tell us.



Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Sarah Bird's Recent Studies Indicate

Paperback Editions

April 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Recent Studies Indicate: The Best of Sarah Bird
Author(s): Sarah Bird
ISBN: 1-4773-1868-2 / 978-1-4773-1868-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: University of Texas Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Recent Studies Indicate: The Best of Sarah Bird
Author(s): Sarah Bird
Publisher: University of Texas Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU