book cover of English Lessons and Other Stories

English Lessons and Other Stories

A collection of stories by

“Baldwin’s prose is precise, nuanced, and sensual. She threads her stories with ravishing glints of colour that explode against the pallid landscape of Canada.” — Toronto Star

“A fascinating collection, rich in cultural insight.” — Edmonton Journal

Dramatizing the lives of Indian women from 1919 to 1991, from India to North America, Shauna Singh Baldwin travels from the intimate sphere of family to the wasteland of office and university. In this powerful collection, some characters say little but know much. Others, imprisoned by silence, choke on their knowledge or use it with bloody force against their oppressors. A few harness the power of wordlessness to seize freedom.

Montreal-born Shauna Singh Baldwin is the author of five works of fiction. When English Lessons and Other Stories was first published in 1996, it took readers by storm. Reviewers discovered a new voice; listeners tuned in to the stories on CBC radio. Since then, Shauna Singh Baldwin has published What the Body Remembers, for which she received the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize (Canada and Caribbean); The Tiger Claw, a finalist for the Giller Prize; and We Are Not in Pakistan, a story collection that transforms the way we see the world around us. Her sixth book, The Selector of Souls: a novel will be published by Knopf Canada and Simon and Schuster UK in Sept, 2012.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Shauna Singh Baldwin's English Lessons and Other Stories

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors